Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Trouble setting up ethernet via NetworkManager
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Negated Void
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Dec 2002
Posts: 668

PostPosted: Mon Oct 12, 2020 3:48 pm    Post subject: Trouble setting up ethernet via NetworkManager Reply with quote

Hey,
I've got a desktop running a e1000e network card. I'm running a non-systemd setup. It's connected via ethernet to a Google Wifi router .. pretty standard home stuff.

I can manually bring it up/down with DHCPCD and via /etc/init.d/net.eno1, but NetworkManager can't seem to do the same. I'm trying to switch it to NeworkManager as I intend to use NM to handle my VPN. It doesn't seem to want to start the VPN unless it has a running network connection, and it doesn't seem to see the other one.

Quote:

tw-linux-murph ~ # /etc/init.d/net.eno1 restart
* Bringing down interface eno1
* Stopping dhcpcd on eno1 ...
sending signal TERM to pid 22618
waiting for pid 22618 to exit [ ok ]
* Bringing up interface eno1
* config_eno1 not specified; defaulting to DHCP
* dhcp ...
* Running dhcpcd ...
dhcpcd-9.2.0 starting
DUID 00:04:ac:f6:ad:db:0e:60:ea:11:98:9a:a4:ae:12:28:24:85
eno1: waiting for carrier
eno1: carrier acquired
eno1: IAID 12:28:24:85
eno1: adding address fe80::9f91:8ad9:c4c9:5498
eno1: soliciting an IPv6 router
eno1: rebinding lease of 192.168.86.25
eno1: probing for an IPv4LL address
eno1: DHCP lease expired
eno1: soliciting a DHCP lease
eno1: offered 192.168.86.25 from 192.168.86.1
eno1: probing address 192.168.86.25/24
eno1: using IPv4LL address 169.254.37.39
eno1: adding route to 169.254.0.0/16
eno1: adding default route
forked to background, child pid 23321 [ ok ]
* received address 169.254.37.39/16 [ ok ]
tw-linux-murph ~ # ifconfig
eno1: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
inet 192.168.86.25 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.86.255
inet6 fe80::9f91:8ad9:c4c9:5498 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x20<link>
ether a4:ae:12:28:24:85 txqueuelen 1000 (Ethernet)
RX packets 1286832 bytes 642120783 (612.3 MiB)
RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 837070 bytes 113629242 (108.3 MiB)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0
device interrupt 23 memory 0xa3300000-a3320000

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING> mtu 65536
inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 255.0.0.0
inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128 scopeid 0x10<host>
loop txqueuelen 1000 (Local Loopback)
RX packets 1701 bytes 130234 (127.1 KiB)
RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 1701 bytes 130234 (127.1 KiB)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0


Quote:

# cat /etc/conf.d/net
config_eno0="dhcp"

# ls -l /etc/init.d/net.eno1
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 6 Oct 5 15:59 /etc/init.d/net.eno1 -> net.lo


However, I can't seem to bring this interface up via NetworkManager. In plasma's NetworkManager applet, I can create a wired ethernet conenction and set it to the eno1 interface, but there's no option to bring it up.

If i use nmtui to active it, I get "Could not activate connection: Connection 'Ethernet' is not available on device eno1 because device is strictly unmanaged"

My Ethernet connection looks pretty boring
Quote:

# cat /etc/NetworkManager/system-connections/Ethernet.nmconnection
[connection]
id=Ethernet
uuid=84da0b6d-3160-4112-bea8-38fb7a30df62
type=ethernet
permissions=

[ethernet]
auto-negotiate=true
mac-address-blacklist=

[ipv4]
dns-search=
method=auto

[ipv6]
addr-gen-mode=stable-privacy
dns-search=
method=auto

[proxy]



And I tried to mark it 'managed':

Quote:

# cat /etc/NetworkManager/conf.d/10-manage-eno1.conf
[device]
match-device=interface-name:eno1
managed=1



Any ideas on what to try or what I'm doing wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alamahant
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Mar 2019
Posts: 557

PostPosted: Mon Oct 12, 2020 5:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi
please run
Code:

rc-update delete net.<iface> boot
rc-update delete net.<iface> default
rc-service net.<iface> stop
rc-update add network-manager boot
rc-service network-manager start
nmcli con show ####AND then DELETE ALL PROFILES
nmcli con del <con1>
nmcli con del <cons2>  ###etc

Then create new fresh profiles
Code:

####FOR STATIC IP
nmcli con add autoconnect yes con-name eth0 ifname <your-physical-device-name> ip4 <ip/cidr> gw4 <router-ip>
nmcli con mod eth0 ipv4.dns <your-preffered-dns> ipv4.method manual
####FOR DHCP
nmcli con add autoconnect yes type ethernet con-name eth0 ifname <device-name>
nmcli con mod eth0 ipv4.method auto
###BRING IT UP
nmcli con up eth0

:D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Negated Void
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Dec 2002
Posts: 668

PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2020 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Didn't work :(

1) I deleted the profiles as shown
2) And added the services (though it's NetworkManager not network-manager)
3) And setup the new profile like this (substituting in eno1 for eth0):
Quote:
nmcli con add autoconnect yes type ethernet con-name eno1 ifname eno1
nmcli con mod eno1 ipv4.method auto

# nmcli con show
NAME UUID TYPE DEVICE
eno1 4b516230-abb8-4718-8ac7-a4920ff0dab4 ethernet --


But when i try to bring it up:
Quote:
tw-linux-murph ~ # nmcli con up eno1
Error: Connection activation failed: No suitable device found for this connection (device lo not available because device is strictly unmanaged).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alamahant
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Mar 2019
Posts: 557

PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2020 6:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please try disabling dhcpcd.
And bringing up again the iface.
If that didnt work try assigning static ip to the iface and likewise bring it up.
Does it work when you use netifrc?
If not then maybe its a driver issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6801
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2020 2:15 am    Post subject: Re: Trouble setting up ethernet via NetworkManager Reply with quote

Negated Void wrote:
I'm trying to switch it to NeworkManager as I intend to use NM to handle my VPN


NM is just a shell around popular VPN's in the same way it's a shell around popular DHCP clients and wireless link configuration tools.

Have you considered managing your VPN from the command line instead?
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Negated Void
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Dec 2002
Posts: 668

PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2020 3:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@alamahant - Yeah, dhcpcd wasn't running. Static ip has the same "strictly unmanaged" issue. Everything works fine via netifrc (/etc/init.d/net.eno1 start).

@UberLord - Yeah, I've used (and contributed to) the command line tools. The problem is that it gets onerous switching between various networks and VPNs manually, and especially when they have multiple-step login processes with multi-factor-authentication stuff. I use NetworkManager on my laptop and really like the interface, especially for easily managing wifi and VPN connections. Using the GUI also integrates well with kwallet etc for passwords.

I would also be happy to use NetworkManager for everything but Ethernet, but it won't try to start a VPN connection since it doesn't seem to know about the netifrc/dhcpcd ethernet connection being up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mirekm
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Feb 2004
Posts: 198
Location: Gliwice

PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2020 7:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could you please show contents of the file:
/etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf

According to message:
Quote:
Error: Connection activation failed: No suitable device found for this connection (device lo not available because device is strictly unmanaged).


your network device is set as unmanaged somewhere in configuration files.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
silverqx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Jun 2020
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2020 6:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have exactly the same problem, I'm using Kde plasma profile and I tried everything described in this thread, also tried to uninstall netifrc and also tried to re-emerge networkmanager networkmanager-qt plasma-nm, thank you for advice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
silverqx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Jun 2020
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2020 10:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

omg, the answer was: 8O 8O

Code:
nmcli networking on

Lost 4 hours, but I got it
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum