Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
How to configure two or more ethernet card .
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rakeshsr78
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jul 2020
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2020 1:17 pm    Post subject: How to configure two or more ethernet card . Reply with quote

HI everyone [topic=][url][post=][bug=][code][list], I need your help on dual Ethernet configuration.

I have 2 lan card
1 - One I had configured for ssh access and other local acess. Intel 1 g card(eth3)
2 - for exchange Connectivity (eth0) solarfalre 40g card
Both Have different network and Ip .
Problem I am getting here If up both Ethernet. My eth3( local ) also disconnected. And If I down any eth0 again. My local network eth3 start again.
The steps I had followed here
I created symbolic link for both Ethernet Inside /etc/init.d/
Then I configured
/etc/conf.d/net
And update both network Ip and gateway everything need to start a connection.
So I stay down my eth0 my eth3 (local) work fine.


Last edited by rakeshsr78 on Thu Jul 30, 2020 3:39 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CaptainBlood
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 Jan 2010
Posts: 1950

PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2020 1:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome to Gentoo.
I guess traffic routing is required, e.g. using iptables or alike.
When required it's what I use at raw level, i.e. 100% manual config.

IIRC some applications integrate it at higher, i.e. easier, level.
Shorewall as a exemple; no experience thought.
Thls 4 ur attention, interest & support.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rakeshsr78
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jul 2020
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2020 3:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So any link or eg : How to slove this issue
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 4996
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2020 3:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what does "ip route" return?
_________________
PRIME x570-pro, 3700x, RX 550 - 5.8 zen kernel
Acer E5-575 (laptop), i3-7100u - i965 - 5.5 zen kernel
---both---
gcc 9.3.0, profile 17.1 (no-pie & modified) amd64-no-multilib, eudev, openrc, openbox, palemoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 46710
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2020 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rakeshsr78,

I guess you have two many default routes.
You can have more that one as long as they all have different metrics. The one with the lowest metric will be preferred.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rakeshsr78
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jul 2020
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2020 2:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ip route

default via 125.125.126.254 dev eth3 metric 6
125.125.126.0/24 dev eth3 proto kernel scope link src 125.125.126.30
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
coderanger
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Sep 2018
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2020 8:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

networkmanager can rebuild the route table to send the traffic via the most recently turned on card
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum