Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] arm64 cannot eselect python3.8
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on ARM
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mDup
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Apr 2006
Posts: 202

PostPosted: Sun Dec 01, 2019 4:05 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] arm64 cannot eselect python3.8 Reply with quote

contrary to amd64 on arm64 I cannot eselect python3.8

even if installed it cannot be seen or chosen by eselect and python-exec does not mention it
also note PYTHON_TARGETS is different when emerging python-exec on amd64 or arm64

amd64 host htpc

htpc ~ # equery l python
* Searching for python ...
[IP-] [ ~] dev-lang/python-2.7.17:2.7
[IP-] [ ~] dev-lang/python-3.7.5-r1:3.7/3.7m
[IP-] [ ~] dev-lang/python-3.8.0:3.8
htpc ~ # eselect python list
Available Python interpreters, in order of preference:
[1] python3.8
[2] python3.7 (fallback)
[3] python2.7 (fallback)
htpc ~ # python-exec2c -l
python3.8
python3.7
python3.6
python3.5
python2.7
pypy3
pypy
jython2.7
htpc ~ # emerge -pv python-exec

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild R ] dev-lang/python-exec-2.4.6-r1:2::gentoo PYTHON_TARGETS="(jython2_7) (pypy) (pypy3) (python2_7) (python3_5) (python3_6) (python3_7) (python3_8)" 0 KiB

Total: 1 package (1 reinstall), Size of downloads: 0 KiB

arm64 host kvim2-gentoo

kvim2-gentoo ~ # equery l python
* Searching for python ...
[IP-] [ ~] dev-lang/python-2.7.17:2.7
[IP-] [ ~] dev-lang/python-3.7.5-r1:3.7/3.7m
[IP-] [ ~] dev-lang/python-3.8.0:3.8
kvim2-gentoo ~ # eselect python list
Available Python interpreters, in order of preference:
[1] python3.7
[2] python2.7 (fallback)
kvim2-gentoo ~ # python-exec2c -l
python3.7
python3.6
python3.5
python2.7
kvim2-gentoo ~ # emerge -pv python-exec

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild R ] dev-lang/python-exec-2.4.6-r1:2::gentoo PYTHON_TARGETS="(python2_7) (python3_5) (python3_6) (python3_7) (-jython2_7) (-pypy) (-pypy3) (-python3_8)" 0 KiB

Total: 1 package (1 reinstall), Size of downloads: 0 KiB


Last edited by mDup on Sun Dec 15, 2019 6:04 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mDup
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Apr 2006
Posts: 202

PostPosted: Sun Dec 01, 2019 4:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sorry to reply to own query

appending
-python_targets_python3_8
-python_single_target_python3_8
to
/usr/portage/profiles/arch/arm64/use.mask
and re-emerging
dev-lang/python-exec
fixed issue
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crocket
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Apr 2017
Posts: 504

PostPosted: Sat Dec 14, 2019 11:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mDup wrote:
sorry to reply to own query

appending
-python_targets_python3_8
-python_single_target_python3_8
to
/usr/portage/profiles/arch/arm64/use.mask
and re-emerging
dev-lang/python-exec
fixed issue


You are not supposed to edit /usr/portage by hand. You can edit /etc/portage.

Refer to `man portage`.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mDup
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Apr 2006
Posts: 202

PostPosted: Sun Dec 15, 2019 4:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

crocket wrote:


You are not supposed to edit /usr/portage by hand. You can edit /etc/portage.

Refer to `man portage`.


right :oops: I confess the hack :D

I had noticed /usr/portage had different content for amd64 and arm64 architectures with respect to python 3.8 exec.
(search for 'Allow python-exec to install all targets' in arch/amd64/package.use.stable.mask)

... but I could not figure easily out how to edit /etc/portage in order to have
emerge python-exec
pick up python target python3_8 for arm64 as it did for amd64.

e.g.: I tried adding
dev-lang/python-exec python_targets_python3_8
to
/etc/portage/package.use

Would you let me know which file to (create?) and how to edit?
Would you then mind posting output of a tentative
emerge -pv python-exec
on your box?

Have a nice day.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 17918

PostPosted: Sun Dec 15, 2019 5:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Based on a quick read of man portage, I think you want to use /etc/portage/profile/use.mask. I have not tested this though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mDup
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Apr 2006
Posts: 202

PostPosted: Sun Dec 15, 2019 5:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hu wrote:
Based on a quick read of man portage, I think you want to use /etc/portage/profile/use.mask. I have not tested this though.


this works ! (I happened to not have a /etc/portage/profile/use.mask file)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 17918

PostPosted: Sun Dec 15, 2019 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The absence of the entire /etc/portage/profile directory is normal. It exists only if you create it, and you would only create it if you wanted to override certain aspects of the profile.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on ARM All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum