Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[solved] initramfs on lvm fails, no output
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Desulate
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 May 2019
Posts: 24
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2019 7:24 pm    Post subject: [solved] initramfs on lvm fails, no output Reply with quote

when using grub the initramfs portion of the boot is failing to a blank screen with no output, i'm using lvm. I've been doing a fresh install from a minimal usb installer.

Its super frustrating because I can't seem to find any output to explain whats going on, everything before this wen't smoothly during the install but this lvm initramfs issue is making me want to pull my hair out. I can't seem to trouble-shoot it following any of the handbooks on the wiki or from pervious forum posts as examples.



lspci -nn ouput:
Code:

host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices, inc. [AMD] Family 17h (Models 00h-0fh) Root Complex [1022:1450] "1849" "1450"
IOMMU [0806]: Advanced Micro Devices, inc. [AMD] Family 17h (Models 00h-0fh) I/O Memory Management Unit [1022:1451]
Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices, inc. [AMD] Family 17h (Models 00h-0fh) PCIe Dummy Host Bridge [1022:1452]
PCI bridge [0604]: Advanced Micro Devices, inc. [AMD] Family 17h (Models 00h-0fh)  PCIe GPP Bridge [1022:1453]
PCI bridge [0604]:  Advanced Micro Devices, inc. [AMD] Family 17h (Models 00h-0fh) PCIe GPP Bridge [1022:1453]
Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices, inc. [AMD] Family 17h (Models 00h-0fh) PCIe Dummy Host Bridge [1022:1452]
Host bridge [0600]:Advanced Micro Devices, inc. [AMD] Family 17h (Models 00h-0fh) PCIe Dummy Host Bridge [1022:1452]
PCI bridge [0604]: Advanced Micro Devices, inc. [AMD] Family 17h (Models 00h-0fh) PCIe GPP Bridge [1022:1453]
Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices, inc. [AMD] Family 17h (Models 00h-0fh) PCIe Dummy Host Bridge [1022:1452]
Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices, inc. [AMD] Family 17h (Models 00h-0fh) PCIe Dummy Host Bridge [1022:1452]
PCI bridge [0604]: Advanced Micro Devices, inc. [AMD] Family 17h (Models 00h-0fh) Internal PCIe GPP Bridge [1022:1454]
host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices, inc. [AMD] Family 17h (Models 00h-0fh)"PCIe Dummy Host Bridge [1022:1452]
PCI bridge [0604]: Advanced Micro Devices, inc. [AMD] Family 17h (Models 00h-0fh) Internal PCIe GPP Bridge [1022:1454]
SMBus [0c05]: Advanced Micro Devices, inc. [AMD] FCH SMBus controller [1022:790b] (rev 59)
ISA bridge [0601]: Advanced Micro Devices, inc. [AMD] [1022:790e] (Rev 51)
Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices, inc. [AMD] Family 17h (Models 00h-0fh) Data Fabric: Device 18h; Function 0 [1022:1460]
Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices, inc. [AMD] Family 17h (Models 00h-0fh) Data Fabric: Device 18h; Function 1 [1022:1461]
Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices, inc. [AMD] Family 17h (Models 00h-0fh) Data Fabric: Device 18h; Function 2 [1022:1462]
Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices, inc. [AMD] Family 17h (Models 00h-0fh) Data Fabric: Device 18h; Function 3 [1022:1463]
Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices, inc. [AMD] Family 17h (Models 00h-0fh) Data Fabric: Device 18h; Function 4 [1022:1464]
Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices, inc. [AMD] Family 17h (Models 00h-0fh) Data Fabric: Device 18h; Function 5 [1022:1465]
Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices, inc. [AMD] Family 17h (Models 00h-0fh) Data Fabric: Device 18h; Function 6 [1022:1466]
Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices, inc. [AMD] Family 17h (Models 00h-0fh) Data Fabric: Device 18h; Function 7 [1022:1467]
Non-Volatile memory controller [0108]: Samsung electronics co Ltd NVMe SSD Controller SM961/PM961 [144d:a804]
USB controller [0c03]: Advanced Micro Devices, inc. [AMD] x370 Series Chipset USB 3.1 xHCI Controller [1022:43b9] (rev 02)
SATA controller [0106]: Advanced Micro Devices, inc. [AMD] x370 Series Chipset SATA Controller [1022:43b5] (rev 02)
PCI bridge [0604]: Advanced Micro Devices, inc. [AMD] 300 Series Chipset PCIe Port [1022:43b0] (rev 02)
PCI bridge [0604]: Advanced Micro Devices, inc. [AMD] 300 Series Chipset PCIe Port [1022:43b0] (rev 02)
PCI bridge [0604]: Advanced Micro Devices, inc. [AMD] 300 Series Chipset PCIe Port [1022:43b0] (rev 02)
PCI bridge [0604]: Advanced Micro Devices, inc. [AMD] 300 Series Chipset PCIe Port [1022:43b0] (rev 02)
PCI bridge [0604]: Advanced Micro Devices, inc. [AMD] 300 Series Chipset PCIe Port [1022:43b0] (rev 02)
SATA controller [0106]: ASMedia Technology Inc. ASM1062 Serial ATA controller [1b21:0612 (rev 02)
PCI bridge [0604]: ASMedia Technology Inc. ASM1184e PCIe Switch Port [1b21:1184]
PCI bridge [0604]: ASMedia Technology Inc. ASM1184e PCIe Switch Port [1b21:1184]
PCI bridge [0604]: ASMedia Technology Inc. ASM1184e PCIe Switch Port [1b21:1184]
PCI bridge [0604]: ASMedia Technology Inc. ASM1184e PCIe Switch Port [1b21:1184]
PCI bridge [0604]: ASMedia Technology Inc. ASM1184e PCIe Switch Port [1b21:1184]
Network controller [0280]: Intel Corporation Dual Band Wireless-AC  3168NGW [Stone Peak] [8086:24fb] (rev 02)
Ethernet controller [0200]: Intel Corporation  I211 Gigabit Network Connection [8086:1539] (rev 03)
PCI bridge [0604]: Advanced Micro Devices, inc. [AMD] Device [1022:1470] (Rev c1)
PCI bridge [0604]: Advanced Micro Devices, inc. [AMD] Device [1022:1471]
VGA compatible controller [0300]: Advanced Micro Devices, inc. [AMD/ATI] Vega 10 XL/XT [Radeon RX Vega 56/64] [1002:687f] (Rev c1)
Audio device [0403]: Advanced Micro Devices, inc. [AMD/ATI] Vega 10 HDMI Audio [Radeon RX Vega 56/64] [1002:aaf8]
Non-Essential instrumentation [1300]: Advanced Micro Devices, inc. [AMD] Zepplin/Raven/Raven2 PCIe Dummy Function  [1022:145a]
Encryption controller [1080]: Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices, inc. [AMD] Family 17h (Models 00h-0fh) Platform Security [1022:1456]
USB controller [0c03]: Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices, inc. [AMD] Family 17h (Models 00h-0fh) USB 3.0 Host Controller [1022:145c]
Non-Essential instrumentation [1300]:Advanced Micro Devices, inc. [AMD] Zepplin/Renoir PCIe Dummy Function [1022:1455]
SATA controller [0106]: Advanced Micro Devices, inc. [AMD] FCH SATA Controller [AHIC mode] [1022:7901] (Rev 51)
Audio device [0403]: Advanced Micro Devices, inc. [AMD] Family 17h (Models 00h-0fh) HD Audio Controller [1022:1457]




fstab:
Code:
/dev/nvme0n1p2          /boot           vfat       defaults,noatime      0  2
/dev/lvm/lv-root        /               ext4       noatime               0  1
/dev/lvm/lv-home        /home           ext4       noatime               0  2
/dev/lvm/lv-swap        sw              swap       sw                    0  0


In /etc/portage/make.conf
Code:
GRUB_PLATFORMS="efi-64"
VIDEO_CARDS="amdgpu radeonsi"


In /etc/portage/package.use/lvm2
Code:
sys-fs/lvm2 udev


In /etc/portage/package.use/grub
Code:
sys-boot/grub:2 device-mapper themes truetype


In /etc/portage/package.use/linux-firmware
Code:
sys-kernel/linux-firmware initramfs


In /etc/default/grub
Code:
GRUB_PRELOAD_MODULES="lvm"
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="dolvm rootfstype=ext4"



check list:

  • mounted boot after chrooting as a prerequisite for grub
  • followed gentoo handbook custom kernel guide
  • emerged linux-firmware
  • added lvm kernel options
  • added efi kernel options
  • added amdgpu kernel options and binaries
  • added other non lvm or initramfs kernel options
  • make install from /usr/src/linux after customizing the kernel/modules
  • emerged grub2
  • genkernel --lvm --install initramfs
  • grub-install -- target=x86_64-efi --efi-directory=/boot
  • root #grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg
  • exit, unmount, and reboot.


Last edited by Desulate on Wed Dec 11, 2019 11:23 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xanderal
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Mar 2019
Posts: 129
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2019 7:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How did you create the initramfs?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Desulate
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 May 2019
Posts: 24
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2019 7:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xanderal wrote:
How did you create the initramfs?


I created the initramfs using the example in the handbook
Code:
genkernel --lvm --install initramfs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xanderal
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Mar 2019
Posts: 129
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2019 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Desulate wrote:
Code:
genkernel --lvm --install initramfs
Ok, mine is similar. Try adding
Code:
genkernel --lvm --install --all-ramdisk-modules --firmware initramfs
maybe that helps, I used it to be safe in my first install...
Did you check DiskEnryptionGuide, Sakaki's Guide? Just ignore the encryption stuff and look at the grub/initramfs/lvm stuff...
Your fstab confuses me a bit:
Desulate wrote:
fstab:
Code:
/dev/nvme0n1p2          /boot           vfat       defaults,noatime      0  2
/dev/lvm/lv-root        /               ext4       noatime               0  1
/dev/lvm/lv-home        /home           ext4       noatime               0  2
/dev/lvm/lv-swap        sw              swap       sw                    0  0
I'm not saying it won't work but I have never seen /dev/lvm/whatever - why not /dev/mapper/whatever?
And how did you end up with the last line (sw)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Desulate
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 May 2019
Posts: 24
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2019 8:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xanderal wrote:
Ok, mine is similar. Try adding
Code:
genkernel --lvm --install --all-ramdisk-modules --firmware initramfs
maybe that helps, I used it to be safe in my first install...


Nice I'll try genkernel with the additional options you've listed.

xanderal wrote:
Did you check DiskEnryptionGuide, Sakaki's Guide? Just ignore the encryption stuff and look at the grub/initramfs/lvm stuff...


Yeah I read Sakaki's Guide it but it didn't really seem to add very much to the lvm portion and dealt with encryption more, I didn't want to start following a route away from the handbook just encase it added more problems than it fixed.

xanderal wrote:
I'm not saying it won't work but I have never seen /dev/lvm/whatever - why not /dev/mapper/whatever?
And how did you end up with the last line (sw)?


Yeah - on arch it anyways it works - "lvm" is just the volume group for lvm2 that the lv are in. I chose to use it since the handbook really didn't suggest to use mapper but I'll switch it to mapper.

P.S. the sw was just me typing it manually here and forgetting to correct it.


Last edited by Desulate on Sun Oct 27, 2019 8:08 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 46122
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2019 8:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Desulate,

What do you have in /boot/grub/grub.cfg?

Your fstab looks a bit odd but your system will come up anyway as everything needed is on root.
root is given in grub.cfg. root=... It will probably be root=UUID=...

Blank screens suggest that you don't have a console driver that can be used in the kernel.

Make friends with wgetpaste and pastebin your entire kernel .conf file.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xanderal
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Mar 2019
Posts: 129
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2019 8:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Desulate wrote:
Yeah I read Sakaki's Guide it but it didn't really seem to add very much to the lvm portion and dealt with encryption more, I didn't want to start following a route away from the handbook just encase it added more problems than it fixed.
I understand ;) I spent quite a lot of time on my first install to merge the handbook with the two guides (and several others) into my own guide...
But there is a lot of useful stuff in both, especially in the DiskEncryptionGuide - even if you don't use encryption...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Desulate
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 May 2019
Posts: 24
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2019 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
Desulate,

What do you have in /boot/grub/grub.cfg?

Your fstab looks a bit odd but your system will come up anyway as everything needed is on root.
root is given in grub.cfg. root=... It will probably be root=UUID=...

Blank screens suggest that you don't have a console driver that can be used in the kernel.

Make friends with wgetpaste and pastebin your entire kernel .conf file.



thank you Neddy

here is the grub.cfg
http://dpaste.com/2ZK3FNE

here is the kernel .conf
http://dpaste.com/2BSAXDZ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
etnull
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Mar 2019
Posts: 372
Location: Russia

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2019 8:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

try adding "mount" to grub's package.use
try installing grub with: grub-install --modules="linux search_fs_uuid lvm" --target=x86_64-efi --efi-directory=/boot
I don't have efi can't tell for sure what you need there in this regard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xanderal
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Mar 2019
Posts: 129
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2019 8:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Desulate wrote:
here is the grub.cfg
http://dpaste.com/2ZK3FNE
Looks mostly like I would have expected it. But lines 66-70 look a bit weird to me:
Code:
set root='lvmid/kcrEdc-ebmh-WBDC-49ot-iOgu-bned-CnR9yD/wpd2KU-xtP9-VQ9g-CgjL-252a-eUk7-QdgAzC'
if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint='lvmid/kcrEdc-ebmh-WBDC-49ot-iOgu-bned-CnR9yD/wpd2KU-xtP9-VQ9g-CgjL-252a-eUk7-QdgAzC'  0818b6d9-5337-41f3-a393-537697c3e1c4
else
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 0818b6d9-5337-41f3-a393-537697c3e1c4
Does that make sense to anyone else?
etnull wrote:
try adding "mount" to grub's package.use
try installing grub with: grub-install --modules="linux search_fs_uuid lvm" --target=x86_64-efi --efi-directory=/boot
I don't have efi can't tell for sure what you need there in this regard.
That's probably not necessary since BIOS/UEFI already found/started grub.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
etnull
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Mar 2019
Posts: 372
Location: Russia

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2019 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xanderal wrote:
Desulate wrote:
here is the grub.cfg
http://dpaste.com/2ZK3FNE
Looks mostly like I would have expected it. But lines 66-70 look a bit weird to me:
Code:
set root='lvmid/kcrEdc-ebmh-WBDC-49ot-iOgu-bned-CnR9yD/wpd2KU-xtP9-VQ9g-CgjL-252a-eUk7-QdgAzC'
if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint='lvmid/kcrEdc-ebmh-WBDC-49ot-iOgu-bned-CnR9yD/wpd2KU-xtP9-VQ9g-CgjL-252a-eUk7-QdgAzC'  0818b6d9-5337-41f3-a393-537697c3e1c4
else
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 0818b6d9-5337-41f3-a393-537697c3e1c4
Does that make sense to anyone else?

I think it should be ok, I don't use lvm, only luks containers on top of the drives, mine looks like this
Code:

        if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
          search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint='cryptouuid/ed0244cac977472ea91795ccb6625b3a'  13551e62-7ad3-4089-be25-77073dcdda75
        else
          search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 13551e62-7ad3-4089-be25-77073dcdda75
        fi

the important part is here, and it also looks fine, except maybe two dashes before the root? possible typo?
Code:
echo   'Loading Linux 4.19.72-gentoo ...'
   linux   /vmlinuz-4.19.72-gentoo root=/dev/mapper/lvm-lv--root ro  dolvm rootfstype=ext4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Desulate
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 May 2019
Posts: 24
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2019 8:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hey xanderal, I can confirm the issue continues after changing the stuff you listed earlier.

xanderal wrote:
Desulate wrote:
Code:
genkernel --lvm --install initramfs
Ok, mine is similar. Try adding
Code:
genkernel --lvm --install --all-ramdisk-modules --firmware initramfs
maybe that helps, I used it to be safe in my first install...
Did you check DiskEnryptionGuide, Sakaki's Guide? Just ignore the encryption stuff and look at the grub/initramfs/lvm stuff...
Your fstab confuses me a bit:
Desulate wrote:
fstab:
Code:
/dev/nvme0n1p2          /boot           vfat       defaults,noatime      0  2
/dev/lvm/lv-root        /               ext4       noatime               0  1
/dev/lvm/lv-home        /home           ext4       noatime               0  2
/dev/lvm/lv-swap        sw              swap       sw                    0  0
I'm not saying it won't work but I have never seen /dev/lvm/whatever - why not /dev/mapper/whatever?
And how did you end up with the last line (sw)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Desulate
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 May 2019
Posts: 24
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2019 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hey etnull, the "lv--root" is just the lv-root logical volume, I don't know why lvm2 adds the extra dash but it should be fine. It's similar to naming scheme I used on arch and which also had the extra dash. under arch it was "lvm-root" aka "lvm--root" and it still worked.

etnull wrote:

the important part is here, and it also looks fine, except maybe two dashes before the root? possible typo?
Code:
echo   'Loading Linux 4.19.72-gentoo ...'
   linux   /vmlinuz-4.19.72-gentoo root=/dev/mapper/lvm-lv--root ro  dolvm rootfstype=ext4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Desulate
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 May 2019
Posts: 24
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2019 9:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kernel output? even before decompressed?

Did you mean during when grub launching the initramfs?

The grub screen shows as normal until you pick of one the options, at which point it go's blank. No messages of any kind inducing the compressed kernel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 46122
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2019 9:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Desulate,

This not a fix, its aimed at getting some diagnostic information.
Rebuild your kernel but enable
Code:
# CONFIG_FB_VESA is not set
# CONFIG_FB_EFI is not set
# CONFIG_FB_SIMPLE is not set


At present, you don't have any console until amdgpudrmfb starts and a lot happens before then.
Including loading the amdgpu firmware.

Turn on
Code:
# CONFIG_PRINTK_TIME is not set
It adds times to your dmesg log.
That's useful for debugging.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 46122
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2019 9:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Desulate,

The first console message is "Decompressing Linux..."

-- edit --
It comes from arch/x86/boot/compressed/misc.c: debug_putstr("\nDecompressing Linux... ");
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Desulate
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 May 2019
Posts: 24
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2019 10:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey Neddy,

I did as you asked, I am now receiving output before it fails. Is it being logged somewhere? Its passing too quickly currently on bootup to review.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 46122
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2019 10:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Desulate,

It can only be logged if the boot gets as far as mounting root read/write.
Until that point, log messages are saved in RAM.

What does "fails" mean now?
The screen goes blank, there is a panic message ... ?

A screen photo or video may help.

Something else - daignostic only. Rebuild the kernel with
Code:
CONFIG_DRM_AMDGPU=y
off.
You will hate me for that, but we can check out the console as far as logging in.
If you get that far, it confirms its something video related

Of course, we have to fix it still or you will have a Ferrari that you can only drive to the corner shop :)
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Desulate
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 May 2019
Posts: 24
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2019 10:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:

What does "fails" mean now?
The screen goes blank, there is a panic message ... ?


Its the same as before minus about approximatly 25 lines that just flash by, then it just fades black with no message. The computer keeps quietly running nothing lol.

NeddySeagoon wrote:

Of course, we have to fix it still or you will have a Ferrari that you can only drive to the corner shop :)


I want my Ferrari to go everywhere, I could never hate you. Thank for the help Neddy. :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 46122
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2019 11:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Desulate,

Lots of systems work well with no console.
Do you have a second system you can use to connect to this one using ssh?

Rebuild the kernel without amdgpu support. Log in at the console and set up sshd.

We want to make sure that there is only one problem when we poke at amdgpu.
Further, if it works without amdgpu thats a pretty good pointer to where the problem is.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Desulate
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 May 2019
Posts: 24
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2019 11:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:

Something else - daignostic only. Rebuild the kernel with
Code:
CONFIG_DRM_AMDGPU=y
off.
You will hate me for that, but we can check out the console as far as logging in.
If you get that far, it confirms its something video related


I'm not sure if its the amdgpu but after disabling it I finally got some output!! lol

Code:

/run/lvm: creating directory
Starting lvmetad ...
Starting udev ...
Setting up the Logical Volume Manager
WARNING: Device /dev/nvme0n1 not initialized in udev database even after waiting 10000000 microseconds.
WARNING: Device /dev/sda not initialized in udev database even after waiting 10000000 microseconds.
WARNING: Device /dev/nvme0n1p1 not initialized in udev database even after waiting 10000000 microseconds.
WARNING: Device /dev/sda1 not initialized in udev database even after waiting 10000000 microseconds.
WARNING: Device /dev/nvme0n1p2 not initialized in udev database even after waiting 10000000 microseconds.
WARNING: Device /dev/sda2 not initialized in udev database even after waiting 10000000 microseconds.
WARNING: Device /dev/nvme0n1p3 not initialized in udev database even after waiting 10000000 microseconds.
WARNING: Device /dev/sdb not initialized in udev database even after waiting 10000000 microseconds.
WARNING: Device /dev/sdc not initialized in udev database even after waiting 10000000 microseconds.
WARNING: Device /dev/sdd not initialized in udev database even after waiting 10000000 microseconds.
WARNING: Device /dev/sdd1 not initialized in udev database even after waiting 10000000 microseconds.


it just keeps cycling through those warnings at the end.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Desulate
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 May 2019
Posts: 24
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2019 12:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tried possible solution here os-prober and UEFI Chroot but the warnings still persist.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Desulate
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 May 2019
Posts: 24
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2019 1:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Found this arch post based off that I tried Custom_Initramfs wiki using the vgscan option.



The warnings are gone but now it is showing this:

Code:
!!Block device /dev/mapper/lvm-lv--root is not a valid root device...
!!could not find the root block device in .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Desulate
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 May 2019
Posts: 24
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2019 1:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Still not solved, I will post a solution if I find one. Later I will try disabling lvmetad like in that arch post.... Then if that fails I might scrap it all and partition the lvm logical volumes to not have any dashes in their name if no one else has any better ideas.....

I'm still not clear on what is exactly going wrong at this point. If I don't answer again tonight I will be back tomorrow morning so please post stuff for me to try or review.

is it the?

  • grub = no its an issue with the contents its working with
  • amdgpu = no was just making my output disappear
  • initramfs = no in general works(?) but the devices are not being found
  • device-mapper issue = well its not listing the devices missing with the static flag compiled in lvm2 and added to the initramfs
  • lvm-lv--root = not a root partition somehow???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 46122
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2019 11:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Desulate,

I though you might have some of that. :)
That's why I wanted to get you to log in before fixing amdgpu.

Code:
!!Block device /dev/mapper/lvm-lv--root is not a valid root device...
!!could not find the root block device in .


The hint here is the empty device list just before the period. The kernel cannot see any of your block devices.
There is a list ot all the block devices the kernel can see.

You have a choice of four controllers for your root filesystem.
Code:
Non-Volatile memory controller [0108]: Samsung electronics co Ltd NVMe SSD Controller SM961/PM961 [144d:a804]
SATA controller [0106]: Advanced Micro Devices, inc. [AMD] x370 Series Chipset SATA Controller [1022:43b5] (rev 02)
SATA controller [0106]: ASMedia Technology Inc. ASM1062 Serial ATA controller [1b21:0612 (rev 02)
SATA controller [0106]: Advanced Micro Devices, inc. [AMD] FCH SATA Controller [AHIC mode] [1022:7901] (Rev 51)

From your other posts, it looks like its on NVME.

Your kernel looks OK but ... this post has a kernel patch to stop your NVMe controller from using the deepest steep state.
That patch in not in the 5.2.3 kernel. As its stands, that code only does anything on a Dell Precision 7510.
If your drive was stuck in a sleep state, that would be a problem.

My 5.2.3 kernel contains
Code:
   } else if (pdev->vendor == 0x144d && pdev->device == 0xa804) {
      /*
       * Samsung SSD 960 EVO drops off the PCIe bus after system
       * suspend on a Ryzen board, ASUS PRIME B350M-A, as well as
       * within few minutes after bootup on a Coffee Lake board -
       * ASUS PRIME Z370-A
       */
      if (dmi_match(DMI_BOARD_VENDOR, "ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC.") &&
          (dmi_match(DMI_BOARD_NAME, "PRIME B350M-A") ||
           dmi_match(DMI_BOARD_NAME, "PRIME Z370-A")))
         return NVME_QUIRK_NO_APST;
   }
That first line matches your NVMe controller, then there is a list of known broken board names. If you have one of those, then NVME_QUIRK_NO_APST is applied.

Two questions.
Do you have one of those boards?
Is that code in your 4.19 kernel?

Code:
cd /usr/src/linux
grep -A16 -B4 "== 0x144d" drivers/nvme/host/pci.c


If you answer yes to the first question and no to the second question, upgrade to the testing kernel.

What block devices do you have installed. No optical drives?
The should have appeared in that boot quote above.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64 All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum