Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
VLC and QT5 volume/seek unexpected behaviour in KDE
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
markisthejob
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Aug 2008
Posts: 142
Location: Cork, Republic of Ireland

PostPosted: Sun Jul 30, 2017 9:10 am    Post subject: VLC and QT5 volume/seek unexpected behaviour in KDE Reply with quote

Hi all.I like to use my mouse wheel in VLC. My setup is if the pointer is over the main video when I scroll up or down it will seek backwards and forwards and if the pointer is on the volume slider it changes the volume.

After a big KDE update a long time ago, The volume and seek features became linked. ie. changing the volume also seeks backwards and forwards and vice versa.

After some troubleshooting and a few rebuilds I narrowed it down to qt5. If I build VLC with -qt5 everything works as it should
This is not a major issue for me but its been present in versions 2.2.4, 2.2.6-r1 and also in version 3.0

I was wondering if anybody has experienced similar behaviour. must VLC be forever stuck in a qt4 version for me?

Im using the plasma system profile and here are my current use flags for VLC

Code:
media-video/vlc-2.2.6-r1:0/5-8::gentoo  USE="X a52 alsa avcodec avformat bidi cdda dbus dts dvbpsi dvd encode ffmpeg flac gcrypt gnutls httpd jpeg kde libnotify libsamplerate live lua matroska mp3 mpeg ncurses ogg opengl png pulseaudio qt4 qt5* sdl skins svg swscale theora truetype udev vlm vorbis x264 xcb xml xv -aalib (-altivec) -atmo (-audioqueue) -bluray -cddb -chromaprint -dc1394 -debug -directfb (-directx) -dvb (-dxva2) -faad -fdk -fluidsynth -fontconfig -gme -gnome -growl -gstreamer -ieee1394 -jack -kate -libass -libav -libcaca -libtar -libtiger -linsys -lirc (-macosx-dialog-provider) (-macosx-eyetv) (-macosx-qtkit) (-macosx-quartztext) -modplug -mtp -musepack (-neon) -omxil -opencv -optimisememory -opus -postproc -projectm -rdp -rtsp -run-as-root -samba -schroedinger -sdl-image -sftp -shout -sid -speex -taglib {-test} -tremor -twolame -upnp -v4l -vaapi -vcdx -vdpau -vnc -vpx -wma-fixed -x265 -zeroconf -zvbi" CPU_FLAGS_X86="mmx sse" 0 KiB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LIsLinuxIsSogood
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Feb 2016
Posts: 204

PostPosted: Mon Aug 07, 2017 5:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does vlc require qt4 for some aspects of build? As far as i know that could be and therefore you are likely experiencing incompatibility between two versions of qt for the platform, ugh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
russK
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Jun 2006
Posts: 509

PostPosted: Mon Aug 07, 2017 5:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not sure it will help, but if you go to Tools->Preferences, Show Settings "All", Hotkeys settings, you can manipulate the MouseWheel up-down axis controls.

http://imgur.com/H6N6sPG


HTH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
markisthejob
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Aug 2008
Posts: 142
Location: Cork, Republic of Ireland

PostPosted: Mon Aug 07, 2017 6:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Does vlc require qt4 for some aspects of build?

I recall when I tried mate a while back , I compiled VLC without the qt4 use flag.Qt5 didn’t exist at that time but after it had built, vlc would only open in console mode so it does require qt for the gui. Ive tried building with -qt4 (which is possible nowadays) to run a pure qt5 version and had the same issue with the volume and seek.The only way the controls work properly for me is with just the qt4 use flag on and -qt5

@ russeK I know you can change the behaviour of the axis controls but the problem is that I’ve used the same scrolling controls for years and that’s what I’m used to. My problem only arose when the qt5 use flag arrived for vlc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 5298
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Mon Aug 07, 2017 6:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you build with USE="qt4 qt5" then what happens is that vlc will be built with qt5 instead of qt4, overriding it completely.

As a matter of fact, unfortunately vlc development is slow and Qt5 support remains buggy. Part of that seems to be due to an archaic and unwelcoming review process.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
markisthejob
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Aug 2008
Posts: 142
Location: Cork, Republic of Ireland

PostPosted: Mon Aug 07, 2017 7:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
If you build with USE="qt4 qt5" then what happens is that vlc will be built with qt5 instead of qt4, overriding it completely


Ok that explains a lot. I wasn’t aware of that fact.As soon as I added the QT5 use flag into the mix my problems arose so il just stick with a QT4 build for now. It’s not a big deal for me but I didn’t know if it was a bug with vlc, qt or gentoo that need to be filed or if there was a solution I was missing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum