Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
How Do I Blacklist a Sync Mirror [Solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
KWhat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Sep 2005
Posts: 628
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2017 10:29 pm    Post subject: How Do I Blacklist a Sync Mirror [Solved] Reply with quote

Hi,

I am having a lot of problems with the Georgia Tech mirrors running at about 10k a second. It's consistently slow and it seems to come up as my preferred mirror about 8 in 10 times. Seeing as how it isn't 1993 anymore, how to I pick a more bandwidth appropriate mirror or at least prevent the Georgia Tech dial up mirror from being selected?

Thanks


Last edited by KWhat on Wed Jan 25, 2017 6:22 am; edited 5 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6227
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2017 12:27 am    Post subject: Re: How Do I Blacklist a Sync Mirror Reply with quote

KWhat wrote:
[...] how to I pick a more bandwidth appropriate mirror or at least prevent the Georgia Tech dial up mirror from being selected?

KWhat ... app-portage/mirrorselect

Code:
# mirrorselect -c USA -s3 -b5 -D

HTH & best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KWhat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Sep 2005
Posts: 628
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2017 2:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sigh...
Code:
plutonium244 kwhat # mirrorselect -c USA -s3 -b5 -D
* Using url: https://api.gentoo.org/mirrors/distfiles.xml
* Limiting test to "country=USA" hosts.
* Downloading a list of mirrors...
 Got 155 mirrors.
* Downloading mirrorselect-test files from each mirror... [1 of 24]Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib64/python3.4/site-packages/mirrorselect/selectors.py", line 305, in deeptime
    addr_family, socket.SOCK_STREAM, 0, socket.AI_ADDRCONFIG):
  File "/usr/lib64/python3.4/socket.py", line 537, in getaddrinfo
    for res in _socket.getaddrinfo(host, port, family, type, proto, flags):
socket.gaierror: [Errno -3] Temporary failure in name resolution

During handling of the above exception, another exception occurred:

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib/python-exec/python3.4/mirrorselect", line 61, in <module>
    MirrorSelect().main(sys.argv)
  File "/usr/lib64/python3.4/site-packages/mirrorselect/main.py", line 375, in main
    urls = self.select_urls(hosts, options)
  File "/usr/lib64/python3.4/site-packages/mirrorselect/main.py", line 324, in select_urls
    selector = Deep(hosts, options, self.output)
  File "/usr/lib64/python3.4/site-packages/mirrorselect/selectors.py", line 226, in __init__
    self.deeptest()
  File "/usr/lib64/python3.4/site-packages/mirrorselect/selectors.py", line 253, in deeptest
    mytime, ignore = self.deeptime(host, maxtime)
  File "/usr/lib64/python3.4/site-packages/mirrorselect/selectors.py", line 305, in deeptime
    addr_family, socket.SOCK_STREAM, 0, socket.AI_ADDRCONFIG):
  File "/usr/lib64/python3.4/site-packages/mirrorselect/selectors.py", line 199, in timeout_handler
    raise TimeoutException()
mirrorselect.selectors.TimeoutException
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6227
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2017 2:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

KWhat wrote:
Code:
  File "/usr/lib64/python3.4/socket.py", line 537, in getaddrinfo
    for res in _socket.getaddrinfo(host, port, family, type, proto, flags):
socket.gaierror: [Errno -3] Temporary failure in name resolution

KWhat ... you have USE=ipv6 on =dev-lang/python-3.4.x? If so then try adding '--ipv4' to the command.

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KWhat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Sep 2005
Posts: 628
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2017 4:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

khayyam wrote:

KWhat ... you have USE=ipv6 on =dev-lang/python-3.4.x? If so then try adding '--ipv4' to the command.


Hmmm same issue with --ipv4.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6227
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2017 6:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

KWhat wrote:
Hmmm same issue with --ipv4.

KWhat ... in which case are there python packages not built with python_targets_python3_4?

Code:
# eix '-Ice#' --installed-without-use python_targets_python3_4

If any of the following are in that list then your python3.4 install isn't in a consistant state:

emerge -pq app-portage/mirrorselect | awk '{print $4}':
net-analyzer/netselect-0.3-r3
dev-python/pyasn1-0.1.8
dev-python/six-1.10.0
dev-util/dialog-1.3.20160828
dev-python/py-1.4.30
dev-python/PySocks-1.5.6
dev-python/backports-1.0
dev-python/idna-2.0
dev-python/enum34-1.0.4
dev-python/ply-3.6-r1
dev-python/ipaddress-1.0.14
dev-python/backports-ssl-match-hostname-3.5.0.1-r1
dev-python/pycparser-2.14
virtual/python-ipaddress-1.0-r1
dev-python/cffi-1.5.2
dev-python/cryptography-1.5.2
dev-python/pyopenssl-16.2.0
dev-python/ndg-httpsclient-0.4.0
dev-python/urllib3-1.16
dev-python/requests-2.11.1
dev-python/ssl-fetch-0.3
app-portage/mirrorselect-2.2.2-r2

If that isn't the case do you get the same error with python2.7?

Code:
# /usr/lib/python-exec/python2.7/mirrorselect -c USA -s3 -b5 -D

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KWhat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Sep 2005
Posts: 628
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2017 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like I have a consistent python setup and python 2.7 isn't working either. I did notice that eselect python list does not show any selected python version, but setting the version seems to change the version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6227
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2017 11:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

KWhat ... stupid of me to think that the 'stable' package would 'just work', doh! Anyhow, it doesn't, see this 2014-09-20 (yes, 2014) bug (specifically comments #4 and #5). The issue/error is the same as your's so please try:

Code:
# mirrorselect --ipv4 -c USA -s3 -b5 -D -t20

or ... emerge =app-portage/mirrorselect-9999.

best ... khay (now with new improved brain damage).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KWhat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Sep 2005
Posts: 628
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 5:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, worked!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KWhat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Sep 2005
Posts: 628
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 5:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

HAHAHA and the first mirror it picks is Georgia Tech!?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KWhat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Sep 2005
Posts: 628
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 5:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So of the 3 mirrors this shitbox program wrote to my make.conf, 1 was GA tech. Of the 10 times I ran sync, 8 were GA tech.... the same mirror whos download speed cant seem to break 10k a second. I guess I will just manually write out GENTOO_MIRRORS although I thought that was deprecated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KWhat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Sep 2005
Posts: 628
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 6:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

... and that still doesn't stop GA tech as a sync mirror. #HELP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6227
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 6:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

KWhat wrote:
... and that still doesn't stop GA tech as a sync mirror. #HELP

KWhat ... you probably have rsync.us in /etc/portage/repos.conf ... that would be a round-robin ("[a]ny available mirror"). So, set it to whatever rsync mirror is closest/fastest, eg (University of Northern Iowa):

/etc/portage/repos.conf/gentoo.conf:
[DEFAULT]
main-repo = gentoo

[gentoo]
location = /usr/portage
sync-type = rsync
sync-uri = rsync://rsync6.us.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage/

HTH & best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KWhat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Sep 2005
Posts: 628
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 6:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ahh they moved it! Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thumper
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Dec 2002
Posts: 537
Location: Venice FL

PostPosted: Mon Jun 19, 2017 12:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same problem with GA Tech.

What was suggested above worked for me as well.

A rsync blacklist would be a real nice feature so we could still round robin through a group of useful mirrors.

Thank you;

George
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum