Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Unable to ping host in KVM
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
finalturismo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Jan 2020
Posts: 159

PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2020 1:11 am    Post subject: Unable to ping host in KVM Reply with quote

So in my windows 10 KVM i can communicate with the rest of my network besides my bridged adapter.

When i ping the host machine i get a reply from 77.77.77.225 saying the destination host is unreachable.

Iam using the macvtap adapter. I also deleted ALL NWfilter rules under /etc/libvirt section.

My upload drastically increased on the guest but iam still unable to ping the host. I know the solution is simple but i just cant seem to find what to do on Google.

Is there any other areas in Linux for connecting the macvtap adapter?

Anyone know what to change.

I need to setup a share between my host so i can go ahead and use Photoshop etc.....


Default QEMU

Default libvirt install

kvm based on latest default virt-manager xml file.

macvtap as bridge, this is the same result anyone will get if doing a default install.

A few people are complaining about same thing for KVM on Google, but i cant really find an answer.


Last edited by finalturismo on Thu Oct 15, 2020 8:02 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mirekm
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Feb 2004
Posts: 198
Location: Gliwice

PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2020 6:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You have provided to less information.
How do you have configured network in your vm definition?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
finalturismo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Jan 2020
Posts: 159

PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2020 8:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mirekm wrote:
You have provided to less information.
How do you have configured network in your vm definition?


Its just the default config QEMU with default USE flags. A stock virt-manager install with vfio pass through of GPU.

Everything is running perfect besides being able to communicate with host.

But ya too little info i will update post.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mirekm
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Feb 2004
Posts: 198
Location: Gliwice

PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2020 8:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Default means NAT. And.... you cannot ping to host behind NAT.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum