Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
2020 Poll - Which Desktop Environment uses Gentoo users ?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  

Which Desktop Environment do you use ?
GNOME + OpenRC
3%
 3%  [ 6 ]
GNOME + Systemd
6%
 6%  [ 12 ]
KDE + OpenRC
35%
 35%  [ 61 ]
KDE + Systemd
6%
 6%  [ 11 ]
Xfce (OpenRC or Systemd)
13%
 13%  [ 24 ]
MATE (OpenRC or Systemd)
3%
 3%  [ 6 ]
LxQT (OpenRC or Systemd)
2%
 2%  [ 5 ]
LXDE (OpenRC or Systemd)
2%
 2%  [ 5 ]
Other Desktop Environment (Comment the topic)
2%
 2%  [ 5 ]
I use a Window Manager (Comment the topic)
22%
 22%  [ 39 ]
Total Votes : 174

Author Message
Vulgar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Sep 2004
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2020 4:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was going to take part in the poll. But like so many poll's, it is limited and spoils the results. Intentionally or unintentionally.

The xfce and other popular desktops/wm's selections included's both OpenRC & Systemd. There really should be the ability to select only one. Systemd in it self has become an OS.

I use xfce with OpenRC and dwm with OpenRC. Depends on what computer I am using at the time, but I have only one xfce, while I have a number with dwm.

No systemd, don't get me started, paying me will not force me to use it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentoo_lan
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Sep 2004
Posts: 891
Location: Charles Town, WV

PostPosted: Mon Apr 27, 2020 2:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use KDE with OpenRC. Everytime I try to use Systemd I have huge issues with my system (user error probably).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vulgar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Sep 2004
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2020 9:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

gentoo_lan wrote:
I use KDE with OpenRC. Everytime I try to use Systemd I have huge issues with my system (user error probably).


Not user error, systemd was designed to do things the user does not want done.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asph
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Posts: 741
Location: Barcelona, Spain

PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2020 9:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use i3-gaps (patched st, dmenu, i3status etc) with openrc. I don't like kde or other "bloated" DE's that hide everything from the user. I understand why people like them but I just prefer simplicity.
I tried xfce4, mate and budgie but I always go back to i3/dwm.
_________________
gentoo sex is updatedb; locate; talk; date; cd; strip; look; touch; finger; unzip; uptime; gawk; head; emerge --oneshot condom; mount; fsck; gasp; more; yes; yes; yes; more; umount; emerge -C condom; make clean; sleep
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mole
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Nov 2009
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2020 8:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use Plasma with OpenRC. Detest systemd. Plamsa works well and there always seems to be little niggles when I've moved to a lighter DE - such as Thunderbird & Discord freezing with libnotify errors in Openbox. Also use IceWM & quite liked i3 but not using it ATM.

Edit: If the nVidia/Plasma problems with system sleep persist I'll be moving away from Plasma. Started after an nVidia driver upgrade; a simple "echo mem > /sys/power/state" works fine with Openbox & IceWM; no method seems reliable with Plasma.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
halcon
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Dec 2019
Posts: 275

PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2020 11:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Openbox + startx.

The only actual question is if/when fbpanel will support python3...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ionen
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 06 Dec 2018
Posts: 1247

PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2020 1:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

halcon wrote:
The only actual question is if/when fbpanel will support python3...
Considering hasn't seen any development in 5 years I'd guess never unless someone else picks it up. However, the reason it needs python is kind of silly, it's _only_ used for the configure script (for building it, it's a C-written application), which could probably be converted or straight up replaced by a different build system without too much work. If no one bothers it's probably doomed to be last rited though :(

Edit: using `2to3 -w configure .config/*.py` and changing #! headlines to python3 actually seems to make it work and built fine, not that I tried to run it. Considering the script is only used at build time 2to3 seems good enough and using it in the ebuild would probably be fine too (some other ebuilds do exactly that for some build scripts rather than have a large patch to maintain). If you care you could open a bug to suggest this trivial change.


Last edited by Ionen on Tue Jul 07, 2020 4:48 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
halcon
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Dec 2019
Posts: 275

PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2020 4:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ionen, thank you much for your reply!

Ionen wrote:
the reason it needs python is kind of silly, it's _only_ used for the configure script (for building it, it's a C-written application), which could probably be converted or straight up replaced by a different build system without too much work.

Really! I've checked that :)

Ionen wrote:
Edit: using `2to3 -w configure repl.py .config/*.py` and changing #! headlines to python3 actually seems to make it work and built fine, not that I tried to run it. Considering the script is only used at build time 2to3 seems good enough and using it in the ebuild would probably be fine too (some other ebuilds do exactly that for some build scripts rather than have a large patch to maintain). If you care you could open a bug to suggest this trivial change.

Unfortunately, my knowledge of python is very limited. I understand it only in what is similar to perl...
I prepared diff files of what was before 2to3 and what became after it, and I have few questions:

Code:
--- a/work/fbpanel-7.0/.config/argparse.py   2015-12-05 09:34:19.000000000 +0300
+++ b/work/fbpanel-7.0/.config/argparse.py   2020-07-07 18:41:16.577582300 +0300
@@ -97,9 +97,9 @@
     from sets import Set as set
 
 try:
-    basestring
+    str
 except NameError:
-    basestring = str
+    str = str
 
 try:
     sorted
@@ -1721,7 +1721,7 @@
                 if not hasattr(namespace, action.dest):
                     if action.default is not SUPPRESS:
                         default = action.default
-                        if isinstance(action.default, basestring):
+                        if isinstance(action.default, str):
                             default = self._get_value(action, default)
                         setattr(namespace, action.dest, default)
 
@@ -2199,7 +2199,7 @@
                 value = action.const
             else:
                 value = action.default
-            if isinstance(value, basestring):
+            if isinstance(value, str):
                 value = self._get_value(action, value)
                 self._check_value(action, value)

+ str = str
^^ Is it OK?

Code:
--- a/work/fbpanel-7.0/.config/options.py   2015-12-05 09:34:19.000000000 +0300
+++ b/work/fbpanel-7.0/.config/options.py   2020-07-07 18:41:16.608582302 +0300
@@ -96,5 +96,5 @@
         str += "yes\n"
     else:
         str += "no\n"
-    print str,
+    print(str, end=' ')


Code:
--- a/work/fbpanel-7.0/.config/repl.py   2015-12-05 09:34:19.000000000 +0300
+++ b/work/fbpanel-7.0/.config/repl.py   2020-07-07 18:42:12.752586680 +0300
@@ -14,5 +14,5 @@
         return matchobj.group(0)
 
 
-print re.sub('@\w+@', repl_func, sys.stdin.read())
+print((re.sub('@\w+@', repl_func, sys.stdin.read())))


Code:
--- a/work/fbpanel-7.0/configure   2015-12-05 09:34:19.000000000 +0300
+++ b/work/fbpanel-7.0/configure   2020-07-07 18:42:12.069586627 +0300
@@ -114,7 +114,7 @@
             formatter.add_text(self.description)
 
         if all:
-            self.help_names = self.help_groups.keys()
+            self.help_names = list(self.help_groups.keys())
 
         for name in self.help_names:
             group = self.help_groups[name]
@@ -275,9 +275,9 @@
         my_check_output(cmd + pversion.split(), stderr=sp.STDOUT)
     except sp.CalledProcessError as e:
         if required:
-            print(e.output)
-            print("This usually means that '" + pname + \
-                "' development files are not installed")
+            print((e.output))
+            print(("This usually means that '" + pname + \
+                "' development files are not installed"))
             exit(1)
         else:
             return
@@ -330,7 +330,7 @@
             v = int(v)
 
         smake += "%s := %s\n" % (name.upper(), str(v))
-        if type(v) == str or type(v) == unicode:
+        if type(v) == str or type(v) == str:
             v = '"' + v + '"'
         sc += '#define %s  %s\n' % (name.upper(), str(v))
     smake += "\n"

+ if type(v) == str or type(v) == str:
^^ Is it OK? (Kinda, it does not harm even if it is repeated three times? :))

So, a possible soultion is adding the call of 2to3 in the ebuild, in src_configure (e.g., before `local myconfigure` ?)

Code:
src_configure() {                                                                                                                                                                                     
        tc-export CC
        # not autotools based

        ## HERE ##

        local myconfigure=(
                ./configure V=1
                --mandir="${EPREFIX}"/usr/share/man/man1
                --datadir="${EPREFIX}"/usr/share/${PN}
                --prefix="${EPREFIX}"/usr
                --libdir="${EPREFIX}"/usr/$(get_libdir)/${PN}
                $(usex alsa --sound --no-sound)
        )
        echo ${myconfigure[@]} || die
        ${myconfigure[@]} || die
}


Edit: ...and changing the "shebangs", sure.

Edit2: ...or src_prepare should be better? All the patching usually goes there.

Edit3: ...and changing PYTHON_COMPAT.


Last edited by halcon on Tue Jul 07, 2020 7:14 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ionen
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 06 Dec 2018
Posts: 1247

PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2020 4:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

^ I don't really do python either, but 2to3 is certainly not a magic solution to make code proper and that's why you wouldn't install this code, but what you'll run is the C program so if it builds properly it's all good and you've lost the python2.7 dependency.

And yes, that'd go in src_prepare(), untested so likely overlooking something but would be like
Code:
src_prepare() {
    default
    2to3 -n -w --no-diffs configure .config/*.py || die
}
Edit: + update shebangs patch + update python compat yeah. Maintainer may prefer to just use the generated patch though, personally prefer 2to3 ran since it'll also update itself with new python versions as needed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
halcon
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Dec 2019
Posts: 275

PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2020 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It works :D

fbpanel-7.0-r2.ebuild (new)
Code:
# Copyright 1999-2020 Gentoo Authors
# Distributed under the terms of the GNU General Public License v2

EAPI=7
PYTHON_COMPAT=( python3_{6,7,8} )

inherit python-any-r1 toolchain-funcs

DESCRIPTION="light-weight X11 desktop panel"
HOMEPAGE="https://aanatoly.github.io/fbpanel/"
SRC_URI="https://aanatoly.github.io/fbpanel/archive/${PV}.tar.gz -> ${P}.tar.gz"

LICENSE="GPL-2"
SLOT="0"
KEYWORDS="~alpha ~amd64 ~arm ~mips ~ppc ~ppc64 ~x86"
IUSE="alsa"

RDEPEND="
   dev-libs/glib:2
   alsa? ( media-libs/alsa-lib )
   x11-libs/gdk-pixbuf:2[X]
   x11-libs/gtk+:2
   x11-libs/libX11
"
DEPEND="
   ${RDEPEND}
   ${PYTHON_DEPS}
   virtual/pkgconfig
   x11-base/xorg-proto
"

PATCHES=(
   "${FILESDIR}"/${PN}-6.1-underlinking.patch
   "${FILESDIR}"/${PN}-7.0-clang.patch
   "${FILESDIR}"/${PN}-7.0-images.patch
   "${FILESDIR}"/${PN}-7.0-shebangs.patch
   "${FILESDIR}"/${PN}-7.0-fno-common.patch
)

src_prepare() {
   default
   2to3 -n -w --no-diffs configure .config/*.py || die
}

src_configure() {
   tc-export CC
   # not autotools based
   local myconfigure=(
      ./configure V=1
      --mandir="${EPREFIX}"/usr/share/man/man1
      --datadir="${EPREFIX}"/usr/share/${PN}
      --prefix="${EPREFIX}"/usr
      --libdir="${EPREFIX}"/usr/$(get_libdir)/${PN}
      $(usex alsa --sound --no-sound)
   )
   echo ${myconfigure[@]} || die
   ${myconfigure[@]} || die
}

pkg_postinst() {
   elog "For the volume plugin to work, you need to configure your kernel"
   elog "with CONFIG_SND_MIXER_OSS or CONFIG_SOUND_PRIME or some other means"
   elog "that provide the /dev/mixer device node."
}


fbpanel-7.0-shebangs.patch (modified)
Code:
--- a/.config/help
+++ b/.config/help
@@ -1,4 +1,4 @@
-#!/usr/bin/python
+#!/usr/bin/env python3
 
 import re, os, sys, textwrap
 # Formats help message
--- a/.config/repl.py
+++ b/.config/repl.py
@@ -1,4 +1,4 @@
-#!/usr/bin/python
+#!/usr/bin/env python3
 
 import re, sys
 
--- a/.config/tar.py
+++ b/.config/tar.py
@@ -1,4 +1,4 @@
-#!/usr/bin/python
+#!/usr/bin/env python3
 
 import subprocess as sp
 import re, tempfile
--- a/configure
+++ b/configure
@@ -1,4 +1,4 @@
-#!/usr/bin/python
+#!/usr/bin/env python3
 
 import sys
 if sys.version_info < (2, 7):
--- a/exec/make_profile.in
+++ b/exec/make_profile.in
@@ -1,4 +1,4 @@
-#!/bin/bash
+#!/usr/bin/env bash
 
 umask 0077
 # new profile directory
--- a/exec/xlogout
+++ b/exec/xlogout
@@ -1,4 +1,4 @@
-#!/bin/bash
+#!/usr/bin/env bash
 
 # xlogout - logs user out of its X session
 # Linux specific since uses /proc
--- a/scripts/endianess.sh
+++ b/scripts/endianess.sh
@@ -1,4 +1,4 @@
-#!/bin/bash
+#!/usr/bin/env bash
 
 # When cross compiling, you may put cross compiler directory
 # in PATH before native gcc (aka spoofing), or you may set CC
--- a/scripts/install_locale.sh
+++ b/scripts/install_locale.sh
@@ -1,4 +1,4 @@
-#!/bin/bash
+#!/usr/bin/env bash
 
 dir=/tmp/lo-$$
 mkdir $dir
--- a/scripts/install_locale.sh.in
+++ b/scripts/install_locale.sh.in
@@ -1,4 +1,4 @@
-#!/bin/bash
+#!/usr/bin/env bash
 
 dir=/tmp/lo-$$
 mkdir $dir
--- a/scripts/install.sh
+++ b/scripts/install.sh
@@ -1,4 +1,4 @@
-#!/bin/bash
+#!/usr/bin/env bash
 
 usage ()
 {
--- a/scripts/mk_tar
+++ b/scripts/mk_tar
@@ -1,4 +1,4 @@
-#!/bin/bash
+#!/usr/bin/env bash
 
 
 function info()
--- a/scripts/rfs-pkg-config
+++ b/scripts/rfs-pkg-config
@@ -1,4 +1,4 @@
-#!/bin/bash
+#!/usr/bin/env bash
 
 # Tt runs pkg-config in a way that everything is searched under RFS
 # but reported including full path. Suitable for cross-compiling
--- a/scripts/update-proj.sh
+++ b/scripts/update-proj.sh
@@ -1,4 +1,4 @@
-#!/bin/bash
+#!/usr/bin/env bash
 
 function usage ()
 {
--- a/www/plugins/mk_gallery
+++ b/www/plugins/mk_gallery
@@ -1,4 +1,4 @@
-#!/bin/sh
+#!/usr/bin/env sh
 
 echo > "$1"
 #echo '<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0" align="left" bgcolor="#ffffff">' >> "$1"
--- a/www/shots/mk_gallery
+++ b/www/shots/mk_gallery
@@ -1,4 +1,4 @@
-#!/bin/sh
+#!/usr/bin/env sh
 
 function help ()
 {


I emerged fbpanel-7.0-r2 and restarted it. Everything looks like before.

# emerge -pv --depclean python:2.7 | grep fbpanel
shows nothing!

Thanks again, Ionen.

I am going to post this to Bugzilla.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 15967

PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2020 1:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know this is a generated patch, so my criticisms are leveled at the code, not at you.
halcon wrote:
Code:
--- a/work/fbpanel-7.0/.config/argparse.py   2015-12-05 09:34:19.000000000 +0300
+++ b/work/fbpanel-7.0/.config/argparse.py   2020-07-07 18:41:16.577582300 +0300
@@ -97,9 +97,9 @@
     from sets import Set as set
 
 try:
-    basestring
+    str
 except NameError:
-    basestring = str
+    str = str
 
 try:
     sorted
This looks useless, but not harmful.
halcon wrote:
Code:
--- a/work/fbpanel-7.0/configure   2015-12-05 09:34:19.000000000 +0300
+++ b/work/fbpanel-7.0/configure   2020-07-07 18:42:12.069586627 +0300
@@ -275,9 +275,9 @@
         my_check_output(cmd + pversion.split(), stderr=sp.STDOUT)
     except sp.CalledProcessError as e:
         if required:
-            print(e.output)
-            print("This usually means that '" + pname + \
-                "' development files are not installed")
+            print((e.output))
+            print(("This usually means that '" + pname + \
+                "' development files are not installed"))
             exit(1)
         else:
             return
Useless, but safe.
halcon wrote:
Code:
@@ -330,7 +330,7 @@
             v = int(v)
 
         smake += "%s := %s\n" % (name.upper(), str(v))
-        if type(v) == str or type(v) == unicode:
+        if type(v) == str or type(v) == str:
             v = '"' + v + '"'
         sc += '#define %s  %s\n' % (name.upper(), str(v))
     smake += "\n"

+ if type(v) == str or type(v) == str:
^^ Is it OK? (Kinda, it does not harm even if it is repeated three times? :))
This is fine. The second test is pointless, but the interpreter will allow it.
halcon wrote:
Edit2: ...or src_prepare should be better? All the patching usually goes there.
I think src_prepare would be better.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
halcon
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Dec 2019
Posts: 275

PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2020 12:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hu,
thanks for your comments!

Ionen wrote:
personally prefer 2to3 ran since it'll also update itself with new python versions as needed.

PYTHON_COMPAT as I wrote it contains explicit python3 subversions, so it would anyway require manual updating when 3.9 come to the tree... Makes sense to remove _{6,7,8}?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ionen
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 06 Dec 2018
Posts: 1247

PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2020 10:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

halcon wrote:
Ionen wrote:
personally prefer 2to3 ran since it'll also update itself with new python versions as needed.
PYTHON_COMPAT as I wrote it contains explicit python3 subversions, so it would anyway require manual updating when 3.9 come to the tree... Makes sense to remove _{6,7,8}?
No that should be kept and with python version additions tests be done for each. Point is more that the patch won't (potentially) need to be re-generated for different/new versions since it'll use the 2to3 version for the current interpreter (through python-exec) mostly ensuring compatibility since 3.x versions also break "python3" scripts while deprecating things.

That aside, 3.9 could've been added at this point (work on that began since out of alpha). Not that it's something you need to worry about, maintainers will just review and change anything they feel is either better or missing if accepted. For now just need to wait.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
halcon
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Dec 2019
Posts: 275

PostPosted: Thu Jul 09, 2020 12:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I didn't think that PYTHON_COMPAT may be used for tests and about compatibility between python3 versions... Clear now.

Well, fbpanel-7.0-r2 is already in the tree! There have been corrected some deps, renamed the patch, otherwise no change.

And, above all, fbpanel's now been saved from last-riting :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ionen
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 06 Dec 2018
Posts: 1247

PostPosted: Thu Jul 09, 2020 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

halcon wrote:
Well, fbpanel-7.0-r2 is already in the tree!
Good to hear :) Being simple C with rather basic dependencies (not like gtk2 is going anywhere), it's probably there to stay for a long time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
halcon
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Dec 2019
Posts: 275

PostPosted: Thu Jul 09, 2020 4:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ionen wrote:
Being simple C with rather basic dependencies (not like gtk2 is going anywhere), it's probably there to stay for a long time.

Yes, hopefully, it will :)
Basic dependencies - rare virtue these days... :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trazodone
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Jul 2020
Posts: 6
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2020 1:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I swap back and forth from DWM and XFCE (OpenRC)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gryf
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Jun 2004
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2020 6:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Window Maker. Sometimes I give a try to other beasts like openbox, awesome, i3, dwm, yet still - no DE, perhaps I like things to be simple :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
Page 4 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum