Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Confusion when installing Gentoo.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
unknownfunction
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Jun 2020
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2020 8:55 pm    Post subject: Confusion when installing Gentoo. Reply with quote

So this is my first time trying to install gentoo I'm a bit lost at the MAKEOPTS section.

When I type lscpu to just double check the amount of threads, the architecture is showing i686 instead x86_64 as well as showing one thread per core.

This is confusing me since my CPU, which is a Ryzen 2600x, architecture's should be x86_64 and should have two threads per core.

Now that I think about it, I would have to backtrack into getting the i686 tarball instead of x86_64.

Can anyone explain the discrepancy to me, so I can have a better understanding what is happening?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentobobbyuk
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 May 2020
Posts: 142

PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2020 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello my friend .
if your acrchitecture is 64 bit u need the amd64 bit arch
are you sure u downloaded the correct architecture ?
You can also pretty much leave the /etc/portage./make.conf blank to get ur system booted
besides the

GRUB_PLATFORMS="pc"
GRUB_PLATFORMS="x86-efi"

and possibly the accept license line for linux firmware u can pretty much proceed

please make sure to check if you are using uefi or none uefi based motherboard

below i have listed some commands to help u begin.

Here are some useful commands for you
If you explain ur setup im happy to try guide u thru it at your own risk


first of all

Code:

cat /proc/cpuinfo


This maybe what ur looking for

Code:

lspci


this will list hardware

Code:
lspci -k


kernel loaded modules

Code:
ifconfig
network info

Code:
net-setup


setting up detected network apdatpters

Code:
lsusb


usb listed devices

Code:
fdisk -l


helps figure out what gentoo has detected for hard discs


Last edited by Gentobobbyuk on Sun Jun 28, 2020 9:08 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 46100
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2020 9:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

unknownfunction,

Welcome to Gentoo.

What does
Code:
uname -a
say? I get
Code:
Linux NeddySeagoon_Static 5.7.4-gentoo #1 SMP PREEMPT Tue Jun 23 13:43:54 BST 2020 x86_64 AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1090T Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
Its the x86_64 thats the important bit.
If yours says i686, you have booted in 32 bit mode.

If that's OK, try
Code:
grep CHOST /etc/portage/make.conf

Code:
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu" i
s the right answer.
If that mentions i686 you have the wrong stage3 tarball.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
unknownfunction
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Jun 2020
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2020 9:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:


What does
Code:
uname -a
say? I get
Code:
Linux NeddySeagoon_Static 5.7.4-gentoo #1 SMP PREEMPT Tue Jun 23 13:43:54 BST 2020 x86_64 AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1090T Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
Its the x86_64 thats the important bit.
If yours says i686, you have booted in 32 bit mode.

If that mentions i686 you have the wrong stage3 tarball.

My uname -a shows as follows:
Code:
Linux livecd 5.4.38-gentoo-x86 #1 SMP Mon Jun 22 23:17:05 UTC 2020 i686 AMD Ryzen 5 2600X Six-Core Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux

Looking at the iso i used now, its an x86 iso. Would that mean I would have to get the amd64 iso instead? If so, would i have to get the unpack the tarball again?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 6687

PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2020 9:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you unpacked a tarball and it put a /usr/lib64/ directory on your disk, that's the right one and you can skip the download/unpack next time. Just boot into the correct ISO and repeat the mount steps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 46100
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2020 10:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

unknownfunction,

You are certainly running a 32 bit kernel. As the 32 bit kernel cannot run 64 bit code, its not possible to carry out a 64 bit install.
You need the amd64 ISO.

Your stage3, if you got that far, will still be in /mnt/gentoo when you have a 64 bit kernel under it.
Provided you have the amd64 stage3, you can continue the install.
If you have the x86 stage3, its start over.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum