Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Steam game not working with Proton (Windows games on Gentoo)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
heikkikk
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 134

PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2020 4:05 pm    Post subject: Steam game not working with Proton (Windows games on Gentoo) Reply with quote

So i tried installing Carcassonne to Steam. It downloads ok but when i try to start it, in the terminal i get this output:

http://dpaste.com/1B9V9VC

note:
For example for the line 12 they say you can ignore it (??)
reference, altho not a gentoo reference: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Steam/Troubleshooting#Wrong_ELF_class

But then i noticed that both 32bit and 64bit are giving the error:

lines 24, 25:
Quote:

ERROR: ld.so: object '/home/heikki/.local/share/Steam/ubuntu12_64/gameoverlayrenderer.so' from LD_PRELOAD cannot be preloaded (wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS64): ignored.
ERROR: ld.so: object '/home/heikki/.local/share/Steam/ubuntu12_32/gameoverlayrenderer.so' from LD_PRELOAD cannot be preloaded (wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS32): ignored.


I have gone through https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Steam
and i have used esteam also.

abnormal program termination


Any ideas welcome!? :)


Last edited by heikkikk on Tue Jun 16, 2020 11:18 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
saboya
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Nov 2006
Posts: 540
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Tue Jun 16, 2020 12:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you tried disabling steam overlay?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
heikkikk
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 134

PostPosted: Tue Jun 16, 2020 2:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

saboya wrote:
Have you tried disabling steam overlay?


Why should i disable steam overlay?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Banana
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 657
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jun 16, 2020 7:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The error message tells us something about overlay, so it might solve the problem.
_________________
My personal space
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chiitoo
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 28 Feb 2010
Posts: 2125
Location: Here and Away Again

PostPosted: Tue Jun 16, 2020 7:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Indeed, it has been quite normal to see the 'gameoverlayrenderer.so' errors, but I agree it's a bit odd that you see both, 32 and 64. I'm not sure if that makes it any more fatal.

Have you tried with and without the STEAM_RUNTIME enabled?

Banana wrote:
The error message tells us something about overlay, so it might solve the problem.

In this case (the 'gameoverlayrenderer'), it's actually a part of Steam itself, and not related to overlays as we know them. :]
_________________
Kind regards,
Chiitoo.

You might remember me from Gentoo projects such as Forums, LXQt, Qt, and Wine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
heikkikk
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 134

PostPosted: Tue Jun 16, 2020 11:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chiitoo wrote:
Indeed, it has been quite normal to see the 'gameoverlayrenderer.so' errors, but I agree it's a bit odd that you see both, 32 and 64. I'm not sure if that makes it any more fatal.

Have you tried with and without the STEAM_RUNTIME enabled?

Banana wrote:
The error message tells us something about overlay, so it might solve the problem.

In this case (the 'gameoverlayrenderer'), it's actually a part of Steam itself, and not related to overlays as we know them. :]



by STEAM_RUNTIME do you mean something like this?


# STEAM_RUNTIME=0 steam
# STEAM_RUNTIME=1 steam

The first one does not even open the steam. It stucks at the connecting steam account...
and the second opens steam but not carcassonne.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
heikkikk
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 134

PostPosted: Tue Jun 16, 2020 11:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

saboya wrote:
Have you tried disabling steam overlay?


Yea, sorry i was confusing steam overlay to steam portage overlay :D

I tried disabling the steam overlay for the carcassonne, but it didn't help anything.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
heikkikk
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 134

PostPosted: Tue Jun 16, 2020 11:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

a new paste after disabling the steamoverlay....

Still errors about the steam overlay.
http://dpaste.com/2JPE41M
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chiitoo
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 28 Feb 2010
Posts: 2125
Location: Here and Away Again

PostPosted: Tue Jun 16, 2020 11:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

heikkikk wrote:
by STEAM_RUNTIME do you mean something like this?


# STEAM_RUNTIME=0 steam
# STEAM_RUNTIME=1 steam

Yeah, when disabled, one would need to make sure all the required dependencies are available, and when enabled, the libraries shipped with Steam are used.

Hm. Does anything at all work via Steam? A native Linux application maybe, or something else via Proton?
_________________
Kind regards,
Chiitoo.

You might remember me from Gentoo projects such as Forums, LXQt, Qt, and Wine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
heikkikk
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 134

PostPosted: Wed Jun 17, 2020 12:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chiitoo wrote:

Hm. Does anything at all work via Steam? A native Linux application maybe, or something else via Proton?


Sorry, forgot to tell that Carcassonne is a Windows game that should run on Linux with Steam + proton enabled.
All the Linux games work fine. Just the windows games on linux are not starting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steve_v
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Jun 2004
Posts: 177
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed Jun 17, 2020 4:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Errors referring to LD_PRELOAD are not fatal. Steam tries to preload gameoverlayrenderer.so, if it fails you don't get an overlay, but it has nothing to do with the game itself.

Suggestions (I don't own this game, nor do I use Steam, but I run plenty of games in WINE):

Those log files you posted don't really contain anything interesting, beyond "steam tried to launch a game and it exited abnormally". Have a look at the proton runtime options and see if you can get some better debugging output... such as anything from wine/proton itself.

This appears to be a Unity 2017.x game. Track down the Unity player log file. You'd be looking for the Windows location, relative to wherever steam/proton creates it's wineprefixes. If things got as far as the unity player starting, it'll probably be informative.

Try it in vanilla wine / wine-staging. WineHQ suggests that it runs, and in fairly ancient WINE versions to boot.

See if it's a DXVK related problem, 'PROTON_USE_WINED3D=1'

Ditto ESYNC: 'PROTON_NO_ESYNC=1'

Being a Unity game, unity command line options apply, you might try forcing a different renderer.

Rather lazy of the devs to not release a native port IMO, considering how easy that is with Unity...
_________________
Once is happenstance. Twice is coincidence. Three times is enemy action. Four times is Official GNOME Policy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chiitoo
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 28 Feb 2010
Posts: 2125
Location: Here and Away Again

PostPosted: Wed Jun 17, 2020 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

heikkikk wrote:
Sorry, forgot to tell that Carcassonne is a Windows game that should run on Linux with Steam + proton enabled.
All the Linux games work fine. Just the windows games on linux are not starting.

Yep, I figured, but was wondering if it's just this one application that is having issues.

I haven't tried Proton myself yet, but do use a lot of Wine, and I would expect more output from it. They probably redirect that stuff to a file (or omit completely without setting a switch; if I remember right, they recently stopped logging the stdout due to people getting their partitions filled...).

steve_v's got some good tips on where to possibly find that info, and what else to try.

steve_v wrote:
Rather lazy of the devs to not release a native port IMO, considering how easy that is with Unity...

That happens a lot for some reason. Maybe they're simply unaware, or don't want to receive issue reports that just might be specific to Linux builds... Could just say it's unsupported or something like that.
_________________
Kind regards,
Chiitoo.

You might remember me from Gentoo projects such as Forums, LXQt, Qt, and Wine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
heikkikk
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 134

PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2020 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

proton log:
http://dpaste.com/259V408
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
heikkikk
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 134

PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2020 5:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

steve_v wrote:
See if it's a DXVK related problem, 'PROTON_USE_WINED3D=1'


Yes, it works!
# PROTON_USE_WINED3D=1 steam

Thanks!!

Is there any way to make it permanent?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krumpf
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jul 2018
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2020 8:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

heikkikk wrote:
steve_v wrote:
See if it's a DXVK related problem, 'PROTON_USE_WINED3D=1'


Yes, it works!
# PROTON_USE_WINED3D=1 steam

Thanks!!

Is there any way to make it permanent?


If you need that option only for a specific game:
- right click on the game name in your library, choose properties
- in the general tab, go to "Set launch options" and add
Code:
PROTON_USE_WINED3D=1 %command%


That way, only the specified game will prefer wined3d over dxvk, and you can launch steam normally

You may wanna check https://www.protondb.com/ for more tips & tricks about games compatibility
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum