Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
network gurus... buying a switch, am i asking for too much?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Off the Wall
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bunder
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 10 Apr 2004
Posts: 5389

PostPosted: Sun Dec 24, 2017 8:48 am    Post subject: network gurus... buying a switch, am i asking for too much? Reply with quote

https://i.imgur.com/nDArfAX.png

so i'm in the market for buying a new switch to replace my aging intel 510t clone... this would also be prep for when my isp finally decides to give me ftth. i don't exactly have a budget but paying $1000+ for a switch seems a little excessive for home use.

i don't even know what market segment i am... definitely not consumer, but i'm too small-fries for enterprise.

am i simply asking too much to be able to throw around this much traffic internally?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
erm67
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Nov 2005
Posts: 200
Location: somewhere in Renziland.

PostPosted: Sun Dec 24, 2017 9:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wait to see if the "new" IEEE 802.3bz is accepted by the market, probably buy a switch that supports it is a good idea, 10Gbe is still expensive and probably 5gbit is enough. I have seen the first laptops with 2.5GBASE-T on board recently and being cheaper it is possible that they will become widely adopted, it uses cat5e or cat6 cables.
Anyway I'd look for a copper switch that supports both 10GBASE-T and the slower protocols.
The magic number is 400 ($/€) maybe the price will go further down.
_________________
True ignorance is not the absence of knowledge, but the refusal to acquire it.
A posse ad esse non valet consequentia
Πάντα ῥεῖ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bunder
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 10 Apr 2004
Posts: 5389

PostPosted: Sun Dec 24, 2017 10:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

someone had suggested the Netgear GS728TXS, which might fit the bill. problem is, it costs like $700. although $700 is better on my wallet than the $7000 cisco switches we're using at work. :lol:

(also what the hell would i do with 28 ports, i only need 6 if the rest are for lan/dmz uplinks and a downstream to one or two servers)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
erm67
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Nov 2005
Posts: 200
Location: somewhere in Renziland.

PostPosted: Sun Dec 24, 2017 12:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The new line of netgear products supports 10GBE and is cool, I remember I had found a good (and small) one for 400$ .... they should support 2.5 and 5BASE-T but check before buying.

I am restructuring a new home so I will lay the cables in the next weeks, 50mt of CAT6 S/FTP PIMF costs 22€ it would be stupid not use it :-)
I will buy the new switch later, so I am interested to know about good products....
_________________
True ignorance is not the absence of knowledge, but the refusal to acquire it.
A posse ad esse non valet consequentia
Πάντα ῥεῖ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bones McCracker
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Mar 2006
Posts: 1605
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 26, 2017 5:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Infiniband
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
szczerb
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 1691
Location: Poland => Lodz

PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 3:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't want to derail the thread, but why 10Gbps for home? Is this a home office situation involving working with large amounts of data (like video editing or sth) directly on network shared volumes?

I'm content with a mere http://www.tp-link.com.pl/products/details/cat-41_TL-SG1024DE.html and don't see the point (return on investment) unless I was moving huge amounts of data all the time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bones McCracker
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Mar 2006
Posts: 1605
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 5:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's why I suggested Infiniband. If you're gonna go 10 Gbit, why not whip your balls all the way out and have a host bus? Perfect for Call of Duty.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
erm67
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Nov 2005
Posts: 200
Location: somewhere in Renziland.

PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 8:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://www.cablinginstall.com/articles/2017/07/delloro-switch-report-q12017-5gbaset.html
Quote:
In a recently quarterly report on Layer 2 and 3 Ethernet switches, Dell’Oro Group cited NBase-T products—2.5 and 5GBase-T—as a bright spot in the switch market for the first quarter of the calendar year. “Despite ongoing macroeconomic headwinds—mainly in part Europe as well as weak federal spending in the U.S.—the market was driven by strong growth in data center switching, a strong quarter in China, and campus switching, which provided an additional bright spot with the ongoing ramp of multi-gigabit switches and the proliferation of the number of switch vendors starting to ship their NBase-T products,” said Sameh Boujelbene, senior director at the research firm.


In fact everybody is buying 802.3bz switches that came out early this year. Cheap (compared to 10G) ~150/200€, faster, compatible with older infrastructure (cat 5e/cat6 only at half speed, 2.5Gbits for 5 Gbit cat 7 cables are required). It perfect for upgrade since it will double the speed with a little investment, only replacing the switch.

I think I will go cat 7, it costs very little more.
50mt cat 6 cable costs 21€
50mt cat 7 costs 29€

A Keystone Jack Module Cat6a SLIM 500MHz 10GB RJ45 Shielded costs 5€, it makes sense save maybe a couple of € and buy cat5 sockets?
_________________
True ignorance is not the absence of knowledge, but the refusal to acquire it.
A posse ad esse non valet consequentia
Πάντα ῥεῖ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bones McCracker
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Mar 2006
Posts: 1605
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 10:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, he's an investor! Well that's different. I thought he was looking to actually buy and use a switch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
erm67
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Nov 2005
Posts: 200
Location: somewhere in Renziland.

PostPosted: Sat Dec 30, 2017 8:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well of course in a office where people just email some word or excel document network speed is not an issue, like maybe at home with Gb or Tb of videos, photo, music stored on a nas and streamed to several TV, laptop, smartphones, maybe watching netflix and a couple of sat->ip channels........

Clearly even a 100Mbit switch is overkill to distribute a lousy ADSL connection.
_________________
True ignorance is not the absence of knowledge, but the refusal to acquire it.
A posse ad esse non valet consequentia
Πάντα ῥεῖ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bunder
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 10 Apr 2004
Posts: 5389

PostPosted: Sun Dec 31, 2017 1:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

szczerb wrote:
Don't want to derail the thread, but why 10Gbps for home? Is this a home office situation involving working with large amounts of data (like video editing or sth) directly on network shared volumes?

I'm content with a mere http://www.tp-link.com.pl/products/details/cat-41_TL-SG1024DE.html and don't see the point (return on investment) unless I was moving huge amounts of data all the time.


Just trying to be efficient mostly... My file server can do disk IO around 500MB/s, but if my network is only capped to 12.5MB/s (100mbit network) or 125MB/s (1gbit network), then I'm basically trying to shove a golf ball through a garden hose. Even worse, if I'm doing that internally, then other stuff on the network has to compete with the congestion.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
erm67
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Nov 2005
Posts: 200
Location: somewhere in Renziland.

PostPosted: Sun Dec 31, 2017 7:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Probably a switch with 1 10GBe port and the other ports supporting IEEE 802.3bz is enough, the NAS will be connected to the 10GBe port of course.
a dual 5Gbe nic on the NAS is maybe cheaper and better with lots of client accessing it, but I have seen a lot of NAS boards recently with 10Gbe ports but none with IEEE 802.3bz ........
Rigth now is probably better plan for a single 10Gbe port for the NAS.
_________________
True ignorance is not the absence of knowledge, but the refusal to acquire it.
A posse ad esse non valet consequentia
Πάντα ῥεῖ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bones McCracker
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Mar 2006
Posts: 1605
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sun Dec 31, 2017 4:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

We wouldn't need any of this if they'd just put a chip in everybody's head.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
patrix_neo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Jan 2004
Posts: 436
Location: The Maldives

PostPosted: Sun Dec 31, 2017 6:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bones McCracker wrote:
We wouldn't need any of this if they'd just put a chip in everybody's head.


Now, please. Before because of all SJW shit does make my head explode.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
szczerb
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 1691
Location: Poland => Lodz

PostPosted: Mon Jan 01, 2018 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you considered putting a 4 port GbE NIC in the server nad bonding 4 ports on a GbE switch?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bones McCracker
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Mar 2006
Posts: 1605
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2018 5:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What would be the point of that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
erm67
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Nov 2005
Posts: 200
Location: somewhere in Renziland.

PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2018 8:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The combined speed of the 4 NICs could than theoretically (if the switch supports trunking) match the speed of the SSD cache on the erver where most of the data is ......
A couple of used infiniband card wasn't actually a bad suggestion, 10-20Gbit card aren't so expensive and also cabling with optical fiber is less expensive than what most people thinks.
_________________
True ignorance is not the absence of knowledge, but the refusal to acquire it.
A posse ad esse non valet consequentia
Πάντα ῥεῖ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
notageek
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Jun 2008
Posts: 132
Location: MA, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2018 10:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bones McCracker wrote:
We wouldn't need any of this if they'd just put a chip in everybody's head.
How exactly would it work?

I've never heard you explain this beyond the statement.
_________________
"Defeat is a state of mind. No one is ever defeated, until defeat has been accepted as a reality." -- Bruce Lee
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bones McCracker
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Mar 2006
Posts: 1605
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 12:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you had a chip in your head you wouldn't need to ask.

Or if it's the LeftyChip™, the very thought of questioning what you have been told will immediately seem absurd and worthy only of ridicule. OMG what was I thinking?! Was I pranking me?!! OMG!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
notageek
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Jun 2008
Posts: 132
Location: MA, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 12:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bones McCracker wrote:

If you had a chip in your head you wouldn't need to ask.

Or if it's the LeftyChip™ (Hope & Change Edition, Release 2.doh!), you'll longer be capable of the idea occurring to you).
If you had a chip in the head you certainly wouldn't need to incessantly edit your posts to rid of dangling parentheses.
_________________
"Defeat is a state of mind. No one is ever defeated, until defeat has been accepted as a reality." -- Bruce Lee
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bones McCracker
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Mar 2006
Posts: 1605
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 1:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you're going to argue, then argue about what I actually said, not some mangled shit you made up. What's the problem? That poor excuse for a strawman is the best you can do? You didn't even weaken my argument; you just meat-mangled it. I think the cold is getting to your thin Kashmiri blood.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
notageek
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Jun 2008
Posts: 132
Location: MA, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 7:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you made any sense it must be in your mangled imagination.
_________________
"Defeat is a state of mind. No one is ever defeated, until defeat has been accepted as a reality." -- Bruce Lee
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bones McCracker
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Mar 2006
Posts: 1605
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 8:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm talking about your fake quote. Why you gotta make shit up like that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Off the Wall All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum