Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
No video on G5 with NV43 and nouveau Kernels >=3.19
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Odiseus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Dec 2012
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2015 6:12 pm    Post subject: No video on G5 with NV43 and nouveau Kernels >=3.19 Reply with quote

Hi,

I don't get any video output on my G5 late 2005 with Nvidia NV43 and nouveau with Kernels from 3.19.x. Last working kernel sources are 3.18.16-gentoo (that I tried)
dmesg (linux-4.1.0-gentoo):
-------
[ 0.235589] nouveau [ DEVICE][0000:0a:00.0] BOOT0 : 0x043200a4
[ 0.235596] nouveau [ DEVICE][0000:0a:00.0] Chipset: NV43 (NV43)
[ 0.235600] nouveau [ DEVICE][0000:0a:00.0] Family : NV40
[ 0.235832] nouveau 0000:0a:00.0: Invalid ROM contents
[ 0.235845] nouveau ![ VBIOS][0000:0a:00.0] unable to locate usable image
[ 0.235851] nouveau E[ DEVICE][0000:0a:00.0] failed to create 0x10000001, -22
[ 0.235857] nouveau E[ DRM] failed to create 0x00000080, -22
[ 0.236304] nouveau: probe of 0000:0a:00.0 failed with error -22
--------
uname: Linux ... 3.18.16-gentoo #1 SMP ... ppc64 PPC970MP, altivec supported PowerMac11,2 GNU/Linux
--------
Probably the same problem is reported there:
http://comments.gmane.org/gmane.linux.ports.ppc.embedded/79377

Any suggestions?

Michael
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jburns
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Jan 2007
Posts: 1005
Location: Massachusetts USA

PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2015 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try the patch in https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=89047
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Odiseus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Dec 2012
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2015 3:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jburns wrote:
Try the patch in https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=89047


I had tried this already: The patch of shadowacpi.c is already applied to linux-4.1.0-gentoo. So I changed shadow.c according to the patch, compiled the kernel and booted it: No video like before and same dmesg.

But thanks anyway!

Michael
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Atha
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Sep 2004
Posts: 158

PostPosted: Sat Jan 09, 2016 4:20 pm    Post subject: should partly be solved Reply with quote

This issue should be fixed in recent 4.x kernels.

Someone tested and found some working solutions for the nouveau driver and PPC64 on Debian GNU/Linux, which may also work on Gentoo: G5: Nouveau & 2D Acceleration.

I had hit the same on a G4, the interim solution was to get a PC BIOS (I downloaded one from techpowerup) and make the nouveau driver use the PC BIOS instead of information provided by the Open Firmware FCODE from the video card. This was achieved by using the kernel command line option nouveau.config=NvBios=<firmware filename> (the firmware has to be located in /lib/firmware). The nouveau driver would then use the information provided in the PC BIOS (provided by the firmware file) which works, while getting it from FCODE was broken.

As I said, I think they fixed that in recent 4.x kernels.

Another issue seems to be that the nouveau driver only works with 4k pagesize.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Atha
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Sep 2004
Posts: 158

PostPosted: Sun Jan 10, 2016 2:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok. So here are the bits and pieces I have found so far.

My configuration:
  • Power Mac G5 “Late 2005”, PowerMac11,2
  • Nvidia GeForce 6600LE w/128MB VRAM, PCIe, NV43

Interesting reads:


So far, on my Power Mac G5 “Late 2005” PowerMac11,2 I was not able to get a working configuration with nouveau, although the logs don’t show any errors at all. If I was to read only the logs, video should work very well, everything gets identified correctly and initialized, but the screen stays blank. Only nouveau.modeset=0 makes the screen not go blank, but then, obviously, nouveau does not work with xorg-x11, instead it reverts to fbdev, which too has distorted colors.

From what I have read, it may work on PPC64 when:
  • CONFIG_PPC_4K_PAGES is used (not CONFIG_PPC_64K_PAGES)
  • nouveau.config=NvMSI=0 is used on the kernel command line


Kernel is sys-kernel/gentoo-sources-4.3.3, I have to use CONFIG_PPC_64K_PAGES at the moment because otherwise my existing btrfs root partition is not mounting due to "incompatible sector size (65536)".

One more observation: I first used nvidia framebuffer in the kernel (CONFIG_FB_NVIDIA) which gave a working console from the start. Also Xorg-X11 was running, but using fbdev from the start. Colors were not disturted, but acceleration was obviously not going to happen. Also interesting: this configuration identified the card as NV14 (not NV43).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
erge
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Oct 2010
Posts: 28
Location: ZH (CH)

PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2016 12:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Atha,

I looks like I do have the same problem on my machine.....

My configuration:
Display Card
Quote:
powerppc ~ # lshw -class display
*-display
description: VGA compatible controller
product: NV43 [GeForce 6600]
vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:0a:00.0
version: a2
width: 64 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm msi pciexpress vga_controller bus_master cap_list rom
configuration: driver=nouveau latency=0
resources: irq:19 memory:a1000000-a1ffffff memory:90000000-9fffffff memory:a0000000-a0ffffff memory:a2000000-a201ffff


CPU
Quote:
powerppc ~ # lshw -class system
powerppc
description: Computer
product: PowerMac G5
vendor: Copyright 1983-2005 Apple Computer, Inc. All Rights Reserved
serial: R70
width: 32 bits
powerppc ~ #
powerppc ~ # uname -a
Linux powerppc 4.1.15-gentoo-r1 #2 SMP Sat Feb 27 11:13:40 CET 2016 ppc64 PPC970MP, altivec supported PowerMac11,2 GNU/Linux
powerppc ~ #


Nothing did help so far to solve the problem I did now put the following firmware to the /lib/firmware directory NVIDIA.6600.512.051115.rom
Adapting the /etc/yaboot.conf -> with append="nouveau.config=NvBios=NVIDIA.6600.512.051115.rom"
Making an new kernel so that this firmware gets loaded and now I get the following new error output on the dmesg and there is still no screen output.
Quote:
...
...
0.214828] nouveau [ PMC][0000:0a:00.0] MSI interrupts enabled
[ 0.214877] nouveau [ PFB][0000:0a:00.0] RAM type: DDR1
[ 0.214884] nouveau [ PFB][0000:0a:00.0] RAM size: 256 MiB
[ 0.214890] nouveau [ PFB][0000:0a:00.0] ZCOMP: 378880 tags
[ 0.269443] nouveau [ PTHERM][0000:0a:00.0] FAN control: toggle
[ 0.269463] nouveau [ PTHERM][0000:0a:00.0] fan management: automatic
[ 0.269471] nouveau [ PTHERM][0000:0a:00.0] internal sensor: yes
[ 0.289296] nouveau [ CLK][0000:0a:00.0] 20: core 300 MHz shader 300 MHz memory 550 MHz
[ 0.289318] nouveau [ CLK][0000:0a:00.0] --: core 300 MHz shader 300 MHz memory 500 MHz
[ 0.289460] nouveau 0000:0a:00.0: Using 32-bit DMA via iommu
[ 0.289524] [TTM] Zone kernel: Available graphics memory: 2015854 kiB
[ 0.289531] [TTM] Initializing pool allocator
[ 0.289554] nouveau [ DRM] VRAM: 252 MiB
[ 0.289560] nouveau [ DRM] GART: 512 MiB
[ 0.289568] nouveau [ DRM] TMDS table version 1.1
[ 0.289575] nouveau [ DRM] DCB version 3.0
[ 0.289581] nouveau [ DRM] DCB outp 00: 01000300 00000028
[ 0.289588] nouveau [ DRM] DCB outp 01: 04011320 00000028
[ 0.289595] nouveau [ DRM] DCB outp 02: 04011322 00000000
[ 0.289601] nouveau [ DRM] DCB outp 03: 020223f1 00c0c083
[ 0.289608] nouveau [ DRM] DCB conn 00: 0000
[ 0.289615] nouveau [ DRM] DCB conn 01: 1130
[ 0.289622] nouveau [ DRM] DCB conn 02: 0210
[ 0.289628] nouveau [ DRM] DCB conn 03: 0211
[ 0.289634] nouveau [ DRM] DCB conn 04: 0213
[ 0.291857] [drm] Supports vblank timestamp caching Rev 2 (21.10.2013).
[ 0.291867] [drm] Driver supports precise vblank timestamp query.
[ 0.291877] nouveau [ DRM] 0xD650: Parsing digital output script table
[ 0.345081] nouveau [ DRM] MM: using M2MF for buffer copies
[ 0.345098] nouveau [ DRM] Setting dpms mode 3 on TV encoder (output 3)
[ 0.462977] nouveau [ DRM] allocated 1024x768 fb: 0x9000, bo c000000166370000
[ 0.543320] nouveau E[ DRM] GPU lockup - switching to software fbcon
[ 0.545161] Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 170x69
[ 0.550706] nouveau 0000:0a:00.0: fb0: nouveaufb frame buffer device
[ 0.550735] nouveau 0000:0a:00.0: registered panic notifier
[ 0.555851] [drm] Initialized nouveau 1.2.2 20120801 for 0000:0a:00.0 on minor 0
...
...


Question did you als try to load the firmware from the the techpowerup ?
Did you also receive the "nouveau E[ DRM] GPU lockup - switching to software fbcon" Error ?
Did you have an different result ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Atha
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Sep 2004
Posts: 158

PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2016 3:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

erge wrote:
Question did you als try to load the firmware from the the techpowerup ?
Did you also receive the "nouveau E[ DRM] GPU lockup - switching to software fbcon" Error ?
Did you have an different result ?


Did you check if your kernel is using 4K or 64K pages? Nouveau currently only works with 4K pages.
Code:
cat /usr/src/linux/.config | grep -E "CONFIG_PPC_[6]*4K_PAGES"

Other than that, I have to check. My G5 Mac is not running right now, althou I could check if I put the HDD back in again…
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
erge
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Oct 2010
Posts: 28
Location: ZH (CH)

PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2016 5:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for the answer.

I am using the 4k pages

Here are the Kernel settings:
Code:
powerppc ~ # cat /usr/src/linux/.config | grep -E "CONFIG_PPC_[6]*4K_PAGES"
CONFIG_PPC_4K_PAGES=y
# CONFIG_PPC_64K_PAGES is not set
powerppc ~ #

Here what I am using actual on the running machine:
Code:
powerppc ~ # getconf PAGESIZE
4096
powerppc ~ #
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Atha
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Sep 2004
Posts: 158

PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2016 6:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So I have to check. I stopped working on it since the last posting, I couldn't get the nouveau driver working at all. That is, it worked according to the logs, but the screen was blank.

On my Power Mac G4 the PC firmware made it work. But that is a 32-bit kernel and userland.

The G5 was a whole lot more complicated and I made the mistake of trying out btrfs with a 64-bit kernel and 64k pages. I am currently unable to run a 4k pages kernel as this will make the btrfs root partition unmountable.

As far as I remember – using 64k pages – there was no "GPU lockup" error in the logs. But this won't do any good without a visible screen…
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
erge
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Oct 2010
Posts: 28
Location: ZH (CH)

PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2016 8:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have an 64-Bit Kernel (ppc64) and my Userland works in the 32-Bit Modus.
Quote:
powerppc ~ # emerge --info | more
Portage 2.2.26 (python 3.4.3-final-0, default/linux/powerpc/ppc64/13.0/32bit-userland/desktop/gnome/syste
md, gcc-4.9.3, glibc-2.21-r2, 4.1.15-gentoo-r1 ppc64)
=================================================================
System uname: Linux-4.1.15-gentoo-r1-ppc64-PPC970MP,_altivec_supported-with-gentoo-2.2
KiB Mem: 4032116 total, 3791544 free
KiB Swap: 8388604 total, 8388604 free
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Atha
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Sep 2004
Posts: 158

PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2016 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

erge wrote:
I have an 64-Bit Kernel (ppc64) and my Userland works in the 32-Bit Modus.

Thanks. As far as I know, every G5 kernel should be a 64-bit kernel. The problem could be the video driver, nouveau, which acts up when on a 64-bit kernel with 64k pages, and some other kernel related incompatibilities introduced with newer kernels (like nouveau not being able to parse the Open Firmware FCODE from the video firmware correctly, which happens also on 32-bit kernels, but should be fixed now anyhow).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
erge
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Oct 2010
Posts: 28
Location: ZH (CH)

PostPosted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 8:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did found very interesting blog, it looks like they could solve the problem.....

http://powerpcliberation.blogspot.ch/2015/10/g5-and-g4-nouveau-modesetting-bug-and.html
On this web site I did not find any tips how to do the patching of the priv.h,shadow.c, shadowof.c

I did find "another" tip which looks very similar to the above one.
According to the https://lkml.org/lkml/2015/10/11/94
Id did also try to patch the priv.h,shadow.c and the shadowof.c but unfortunatly afterwords I was not able to generate an new Kernel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
erge
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Oct 2010
Posts: 28
Location: ZH (CH)

PostPosted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 9:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For information

Here the download site (git) of the paches priv.h,shadow.c,shadowof.c which did not work in my case.
Linux kernel source tree
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum